ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
PROBLEM WITH CLAM UPDATES 0.88 'No IP address
jjflores


Joined: 12 Jan 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi, from Mexico here.

I'm having troubles with ClamWin updates and I get this error message:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:07 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:12 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:17 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
ERROR: Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working.

-------------------
Completed
-------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Also a small ballon displays from the ClamWin system tray icon saying: "An error occurred during Virus Database Update. Please review the update report"

Please someone help me Very Happy
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
are you behind a proxy server? If so, you need to configure it in the ClamWin preferences window
View user's profileSend private message
josemj1


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Now, this is silly. I'm not behind a proxy server, but my Clamwin installation started complaining in the same way. But in fact, I can connect to the server with my web browser with no problem. It's not a proxy server issue.

So the next question is: what port number is being used to obtain updates? And is it one which a corporate firewall might be tempted to block?

Thanks.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
it's port 80. Another possibility is application firewall blocking freshclam.exe

Also are you certain that there is no Automatic Proxy Configuration ticked in the Web Browser? Maybe there is an auto proxy config script on the LAN?
View user's profileSend private message
josemj1


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Quote:
Also are you certain that there is no Automatic Proxy Configuration ticked in the Web Browser? Maybe there is an auto proxy config script on the LAN?


No. The installation is on a computer connected to a network which has never employed proxy connections -- it's all straight TCP/IP all the way to the internet, with no NATs, either. However, we do have a corporate firewall which, as far as I know, is pretty loose with outgoing connections but extremely brutal with incoming connections.

I also don't see any patches applied to this computer which could be enforcing some kind of policy. So I'm stumped.

I also made sure that the paths to any other copies of cygwin1.dll on this computer have been excluded from the PATH environment variable. There were no software installations on or around the date of first clamwin-update-failure.

Is it possible to make freshclam.exe emit more useful text output?

Thanks.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
Quote:
Is it possible to make freshclam.exe emit more useful text output?

Not really but you can use packet sniffer like ethereal to see what is going on
View user's profileSend private message
thiago


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I am having the same problem. When I use the nslookup I get the ips for the dns, so it doesnt seem a network problem. Also my firewall is accepting anything from/to clamwin.

I solved the problem by changing the DNS for one of the IPs i found out with nslookup, but I guess it is not a good solution since they may change in the future...
If you want to do the same so you can download the updates until someone find out what is wrong here is what I did:

right button on icon, then Configure Clamwin, then Internet Updates and put on download site one of the ips, like 205.139.192.213 (the one I used). It will probably work fine now. Strange isnt it?

Some info on the enviroments I tried and had the same problem:

Enviroment 1:
System: Windows XP service pack 2
Network: Cable lan using a proxy server to connect to internet

Enviroment 2:
System: Windows XP service pack 2
Network: Wireless lan using nat to connect to internet

Comments: It worked on both enviroments when I had version 0.87.1 some time ago, but now if I downgrade to it again it wont work. So maybe it is something that changed on the update server?

Another comment: Seems that your forum is having sql problems when editing msgs depending on the symbols we use on the messages... I cant post the symbol here since it will cause the problem =P

My location: Brazil - S?o Paulo - S?o Paulo.

[]s.
View user's profileSend private message
frantisek.sidak


Joined: 24 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Watch this my post: http://forums.clamwin.com/viewtopic.php?t=121 http://forums.clamwin.com/viewtopic.php?t=121, maybie it solves your problem.
Fanda
View user's profileSend private message
josemj1


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I gave up on the Automatic Update option.

I downloaded a package of unix-like tools at http://unxutils.sourceforge.net http://unxutils.sourceforge.net, and extracted wget.exe from it and put it in a directory I have a path to in my environment variable PATH.

Next I made a batch file called 'update.bat' which looks like this:
Code:
wget -Omain.cvd.tmp http://db.us.clamav.net/main.cvd
if errorlevel 1 goto Failed
del /f/q main.cvd
ren main.cvd.tmp main.cvd

wget -Odaily.cvd.tmp http://db.us.clamav.net/daily.cvd
if errorlevel 1 goto Failed
del /f/q daily.cvd
ren daily.cvd.tmp daily.cvd
goto end

:Failed
echo Failed to update files
goto end
:end

I put it in the C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db directory where the updates should go if Clamwin was installed for "all users".

Finally, I set up a Scheduled Task which runs this batch file every day at the same time, making sure that the "Start In" box has the same C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db directory.

Works fine, except now it always downloads the main database, which causes a higher load on the server. So to be nice, you should find a server local to you (I chose the db.us.clamav.net server).
View user's profileSend private message
charlyiy


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi, from Mexico here.

I'm having troubles with ClamWin updates and I get this error message:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:07 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:12 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 12 18:10:17 2006
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
ERROR: Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working.

-------------------
Completed
-------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Also a small ballon displays from the ClamWin system tray icon saying: "An error occurred during Virus Database Update. Please review the update report

***************************************************************************************************
[b]from here stats my real post

i had the same prob but thanks to THIAGO i have the prob solved... tanks again to THIAGO, it is working now ! ! ! ! ! !
[color=blue]
[/b][/color]
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
antispam007


Joined: 13 Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
This problem is related to the resolution of a DNS request.

It seems that the default host name "database.clamav.net" for the update server is mapped, and in some countries the resulting response is marked as "non-authoritative".

A solution is to check with nslookup "database.clamav.net", the result may containt the hostname like "db.america.clamav.net", and a few IPs. Then replace it in the preference as the update server.
View user's profileSend private message
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No I
ibsys1


Joined: 15 Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Three days ago I upgraded to a newer version of the ClamWin and since that I am getting the following error when trying to dowload the virus updates:

ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address

I'm not using proxy server on my network.

Thank you for any suggestions
View user's profileSend private message
PROBLEM WITH CLAM UPDATES 0.88 'No IP address
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic