ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
unable to get virus file
gcruik


Joined: 20 Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Reply with quote
I get the following message.

Could not start process:
"C:\Program Files\ClamWin\bin\freshclam.exe" --stdout --datadir="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db" --config-file="c:\docume~1\gordon\locals~1\temp\tmpvqbyrg" --log="c:\docume~1\gordon\locals~1\temp\tmplfy3t3"
Error: This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

How can I fix this?
Gordon

I have reinstalled several times. Same result.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
first time I see this error. Does scanning work?
View user's profileSend private message
alijor


Joined: 17 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I have the same problem. Can't scan memory nor drives
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
alijor wrote:
I have the same problem. Can't scan memory nor drives


please provide more info. Version of Windows, Clamwin. Are you logged on as administrator?
View user's profileSend private message
alijor


Joined: 17 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I use Microsoft Windows XP professional SP2 and I'm not logged as admin.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
when you installed clamwin, were you logged on as administrator or a non-admin user?
View user's profileSend private message
alijor


Joined: 17 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Non-admin. Also, when I try to scan (here hard drive D), I get:
Quote:
Could not start process:
"C:\Program Files\ClamWin\bin\clamscan.exe" --tempdir "c:\docume~1\xxxx~1.xxx\locals~1\temp" --keep-mbox --stdout --database="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users.WINDOWS\.clamwin\db" --log="c:\docume~1\xxxx~1.xxx\locals~1\temp\tmp-sz80g" --max-ratio=0 --no-mail --skip-noexe --infected --max-files=500 --max-space=10240 --max-recursion=5 --show-progress --recursive --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\default" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\SAM" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\SECURITY" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\software" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\software.alt" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\system" --exclude="C:\\WINDOWS\\system32\\config\\system.alt" --exclude="[^\]*\.dbx$" --exclude="[^\]*\.tbb$" --exclude="[^\]*\.pst$" --exclude="[^\]*\.dat$" --exclude="[^\]*\.log$" --exclude="[^\]*\.evt$" --exclude="[^\]*\.nsf$" --exclude="[^\]*\.ntf$" --exclude="[^\]*\.chm$" --kill "D:\\"
Error: This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
I tried to install on xpsp2 as admin and non-admin and it worked in both cases.

It may be related to the VC8 runtime. Try to download and install vcredist_x86.exe from here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=32bc1bee-a3f9-4c13-9c99-220b62a191ee&displaylang=en

Then if it does not help, delete the following folder:
C:\Program Files\ClamWin\bin\Microsoft.VC80.CRT
View user's profileSend private message
alijor


Joined: 17 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
It works now after installing that runtime file. Thanks to you!
View user's profileSend private message
unable to get virus file
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic