ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
MD5 verification error
Freedata


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi
This is my first time to use Clamwin so i downloaded the 0.88.7 Released Version but when i try to run it ,a window telling me for downloading Virus definitions databes! so i did!but look what i got as error messages:
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 04 19:34:44 2007
ERROR: Verification: MD5 verification error
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 04 19:35:25 2007
ERROR: Verification: MD5 verification error
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Thu Jan 04 19:44:01 2007
ERROR: Verification: MD5 verification error
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
ERROR: Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working.

--------------------------------------
Completed

More informations:i'm using XP sp2 and my connexion is DSL!
could you help me please?
sorry if i've bad english
thanks
--------------------------------------
View user's profileSend private message
Failed Update
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4388
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Try the update several times over an hour or so. Try it when you are online, try it from the Download Updates option when you right click on the icon in the system tray, try it when you Open ClamWin by right clicking on the icon in the system tray and select Tools, Download. One of these usually does this for me when I have a problem updating. Usually the problem is with the mirror sites. If nothing works, then uninstall ClamWin and then reinstall it.

That's my suggestion--unless the developers have something better.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Freedata


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi Bob
first ,thax for your reply !so i tried all what you told me to do!same error!
so i'd like to know how to use a proxy as i ve DSL connexion? because i didnt check it!
waiting for your replies!
View user's profileSend private message
ClamWin And Proxy
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4388
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I'm afraid I'm not much help re: proxy. There is a Proxy tab on the ClamWin configuration menu.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
In the ClamWin Preferences, there is a Proxy Settings tab. You can enter proxy settings here.
Also check that your firewall allows freshclam.exe to access the internet.
View user's profileSend private message
try to change db server
popup977


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
for example: db.uk.clamav.net, db.it.clamav.net, db.asia.clamav.net
or something more precise than database.clamav.net
in all cases dns has permanent translation to one of them.
View user's profileSend private message
MD5 verification error
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic