ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
two (or many) update servers ?
drgoa.r


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Location: Bulgaria
Reply with quote
is it possible to have more than one update server in ClamWin.conf?
"database.clamav.net" is probably overloaded most of the time.
also developers of ClamAV asks to use it not more than one time per hour.
some of us has local (country) database mirrors which are way faster than main server.
can we use it and have "database.clamav.net" as backup server (in case locals are outdated or down)?
as it was in freshclam.conf:
DatabaseMirror db.XY.clamav.net
DatabaseMirror database.clamav.net
(where XY is country code)
thanks!
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 898
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
database.clamav.net is a geo dns entry, it redirects you based on you country, you can check it by using nslookup on database.clamav.net and your regional mirror
View user's profileSend private message
drgoa.r


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Location: Bulgaria
Reply with quote
yeah, I know that it redirects me, but why we must use redirection when we can just add nearest server manually (they can be found on ClamAV site).
just like in freshclam.conf (nearest server + database.clamav.net as backup).
not to mention that database.clamav.net sends me to servers in Greece, which is not my country Smile
also - why update server can't be changed in configuration tabs? it's avaliable only if automatic update is enabled....
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 898
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
no no it's not a "redirection" the dns resolves the name with the the geographic mirror
Code:

host database.clamav.net
database.clamav.net     CNAME   db.local.clamav.net
db.local.clamav.net     CNAME   db.it.clamav.net
db.it.clamav.net        A       213.92.8.5
db.it.clamav.net        A       193.206.139.37
View user's profileSend private message
drgoa.r


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 66
Location: Bulgaria
Reply with quote
aaaa, I see now Smile
View user's profileSend private message
try to change db server
popup977


Joined: 09 Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
for example: db.uk.clamav.net, db.it.clamav.net, db.asia.clamav.net
or something more precise than database.clamav.net
in all cases dns has permanent translation to one of them.
View user's profileSend private message
two (or many) update servers ?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic