ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Error Initializing virus database
mailparikshit


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: surat
Reply with quote
my clamwin works fine and also scan files.

but when i try using command line through my program it says "can't initialize virus database."

the command line that i use is:

C:\Program Files\ClamWin\bin\clamscan.exe "C:\01.jpg" --show-progress --log="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\log\scanlog.log" --database="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db"


kindly let me know where m i wrong and why m i receiving that error.

i have tried this on my system it works fine..
but, when i try it on others system having NTFS file system then it shows me that error.
Please HELP!

Parikshit
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
the command line syntax is correct. Check that there are database files in that location and the clamwin main program works ok.
View user's profileSend private message
mailparikshit


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: surat
Reply with quote
clamwin program works fine.

and my program also works fine and returns the clamwin output too.

but when i try it using IIS . i mean with webpages then i don't get the output, it returns me the virus database not initialized

there are main.cvd and daily.cvd file in the path that points to database.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
then most likely your problem is with file permissions - IIS user account has no access to the database files.
View user's profileSend private message
mailparikshit


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: surat
Reply with quote
Yes even i think so,

But one thing to clear is:

it works on my system winxp pro with iis5.xx

and it doesn't work on my friends system having same winxp pro with iis5.xx

can you please tell me how to set up permission for Virus database.

i don't know how to achieve that, although i know many of the options, but still i might be missing something
please tell me what should i do for that.

Parikshit
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
this issue is not related to clamwin antivirus support but rather general Windows XP administration. You need to figure out which account is configured for your friend's IIS and then make sure this account has read access to the database folder.
View user's profileSend private message
mailparikshit


Joined: 30 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Location: surat
Reply with quote
how can we know that whether IIS user have access to database folder
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
by right-clicking on the database folder in windows explorer and then selecting "Security" tab. There are plenty of Windows XP administration resources and tutorials available on the Internet where this is described.
View user's profileSend private message
Error Initializing virus database
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic