ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Why doesn't logging work when a scheduled scan is ran?
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
As topic says. I cannot get the reporting to work when a scheduled scan is suppose to run. Manual scans are Ok.
View user's profileSend private message
Scan: working in progress.... (%)
Lela68


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
I'm not sure that the problem is the same (due to my imperfect English Embarassed ) but I suppose it is... in any case I try to explain you my problem Confused :
when the scheduled scan is running I cannot see its "working in progress" for sure. I mean... I open the Scan Report... I see when the scan started - not so difficult as it is a scheduled one... - and the numbers of files already scanned (and this makes nonsense to me...I do not know everyday how many files exactly I have) but I cannot see in that right moment at which point the scan is.
Increasing a percentage, as for installing programs, would be a solution.... in that way it would be possible to see when it has finished ....even if I can "imagine" it because the pc start working normally again.. as during the scan it is almost paralysed (even if I have a 1,25 GB RAM - processor Intel 1,4 GHz).
Thanks to anyone who can help me about that! Very Happy
Sorry for my English... Wink
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Yes actually, I also cannot see that it's working in progress. I only assume that it is because a popup says that it's scanning but when I click on the scan, theres nothing happening, so I'm not sure if it's actually scanning in the background or what. I think this is my problem, in that the scheduled scan is in fact not working correctly. I will have to investigate further.

Your english is fine.
View user's profileSend private message
Scan Progress Indication
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4513
Location: USA
Reply with quote
There is an option under the ClamWin General Preferences to check a box to display file scanned % progress. It's not fancy, but it can give you an idea of what directory the scanner is looking at. They say if you leave the box unchecked it will speed up the scan some, but it doesn't seem to make much difference on my computer.

I have an old personal computer, and it takes a long time to scan my entire hard drive--more than two hours. I reduce the scan time by filtering for about 30 file extensions that are the most likely files to contain malware. You can also reduce the scan time by scanning just a portion of your hard drive with each scan. You can configure ClamWin to set up a scheduled scan of a portion of your hard drive each day, and by the time a week has passed, you will have scanned your entire hard drive without taking up too much time in one long scan.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
I still can't see any progress when a scheduled scan is ran. If I open up ClamAV while a scheduled task is running, there is no information about what it's currently scanning. The only way I know that it is in fact scanning is that the CPU goes up to 100%.

Anyway I'm not really fussed about that, I just want to know why the report isn't getting written to when a scheduled scan runs.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
the report is appended once the scheduled scan is finished. If the Scheduled scan is ruinnig you will see "Stop All Shcheduled Scans" menu item under "Scheduler" in the tray menu.
View user's profileSend private message
Scan Reports
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4513
Location: USA
Reply with quote
There is a folder under the Configuration Menu for Reports where you can name the reports/logs for scans and updates. I believe the default location for the report/logs is in a Clam subdirectory in the All Users folder under Windows. The default names are ClamScanLog.txt and ClamUpdateLog.txt. If they aren't there, look somewhere in the regular ClamWin folder under the Programs directory.

They may have had a problem with this. Some of my early logs are in the ClamWin directory under Programs. The later ones are in the Logs subfolder in the Clam folder in the All Users folder under the Windows directory. You can name future reports/logs whatever you want and
put them wherever you want.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Ok. The way I tested my report logging for scheduled tasks was by disabling the 'scan subdirectories' option so that it would finish quickly. But after it finished, it didn't write to the log.

Regaring locations of logs, by default yes it puts it in the All Users\.clam\log or whatever it is but I've even tried changing the location to see if that would make a difference, but unfortunately not.
View user's profileSend private message
Scan Logging
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4513
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Does it log an on-demand scan when you do it? If it does, then that might tell you something--perhaps leaving subdirectories out negates a log. That's about all I can suggest--I'm just an ordinary user. Guess you'll have to wait for some real help from the ClamWin team.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
I just ran a quick test and it does append to the log file after a scheduled scan. Please check that pathes in "Reports" tab of clamwin "Prefernces" are set correctly. If so, then check if the report is being appended after a manual scan.
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Yeah, it actually worked after last night's scan. Maybe it's because it needs to be a full scan, I don't know, but I'm going to leave it again tonight to make sure it wasn't a once off and let it do another full scan.

Off topic, how should one scan multiple drives, seeing there is no option that says something like "Run this schedule once the previous schedule has finished" or something similar. I am going to set it to run one minute after the first scan and see how it goes. These schedules are ran at night so it doesn't matter if theres high CPU usage.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
yes, this functionality does not yet exist. Will be addressed in version 1.
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
I'd just like to say that this still doesn't work. I am now out of ideas. All I can think of is it maybe having something to do with the fact that I set it up via remote desktop and then because I've logged out, and it's somehow failing because the user isn't logged in.

Can anyone else verify that logging works for scheduled scans, and if so, does it still work if you're not logged in?
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
misc wrote:
I'd just like to say that this still doesn't work. I am now out of ideas. All I can think of is it maybe having something to do with the fact that I set it up via remote desktop and then because I've logged out, and it's somehow failing because the user isn't logged in.

Can anyone else verify that logging works for scheduled scans, and if so, does it still work if you're not logged in?


That explains it... For scheduled scans to run you need to be logged on with clamtray.exe running. Version 1 will not require a user to be logged on.
View user's profileSend private message
misc


Joined: 12 Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Ok, thanks. Any ideas when that's going to be released?
View user's profileSend private message
Why doesn't logging work when a scheduled scan is ran?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic