ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Why is this program dying?
owerlord

Hello, I am new to ClamWin and use it along with Clam Sentinel. I am a great lover of free software and I am very happy to know that there is an antivirus program. I just don't know why this wonderful programmer is dying? From what I can see there are quite a few people here. Would it be possible to reactivate it? I'm not good at programming nor can I speak English very well but I will try to support him with a youtube ad and a donation. I wish ClamWin didn't die Sad
Please
GuitarBob

I have used ClamWin since 2006 when the AV companies quit supporting Windows 98. I represented ClamWin as an open source antivirus sigmaker at the Clam AV Project for 5 years, and continue to voluntarily monitor this forum. ClamWin is dying because the developers no longer have much interest in it. When Alch (and another indidividual) wrote ClamWin back in 2005, it was a lot easier to develop an AV, but that has changed. There is/was no financial support for it, like most free, open source projects, which need money to operate--to develop the software, to build an organization and to attract talented people to help,

Regards,
owerlord

I understand. But I don't want this project to be abandoned. On all sides, we have corporate tracking and zero freedom. ClamWin is the only antivirus that is free. I'm very happy to have found this community and you as a volunteer Don't give up, please. People will still see what freedom really is. I will try to send at least this $10 donation. He will also try to advertise this project and try to somehow learn more advanced programming. I would very much like such little ones not to die Sad
GuitarBob

I wish more people felt like you, but I suggest you keep the $10. What is really needed (and quickly, I think) is someone who is a good coder and can update the old ClamWin software and GUI.