ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Very great AV!!! But I have a problem with updates viruses..
torakiki78


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
..hello, I need to update this AV but I use a PC that hasn't internet... Sad
It is a server with Windows Server 2003 and 4 PCs with windows XP Professional rigorously not connectto Internet! Smile

One other question: this AV makes the scanner of the mails that I receive?

Thanks!
Nicola
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
for updates without internet please see this FAQ:
http://www.clamwin.com/content/view/58/27/

Clamwin only integrates with MS Outlook (not Outlook Express) email program
View user's profileSend private message
Update Without The Internet
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4292
Location: USA
Reply with quote
If you don't use the Internet (including email), then you probably don't need frequent updates--because most viruses now are passed over the Internet/Web.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
virus updates error
warrior


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Location: U.S.A!
Reply with quote
For some reson, and this just started. but i get a error every time it trys to update. It is set on auto update, but i have tryed it myself still get the error.

Here is what i get> ClamAV update process started at Wed Oct 04 13:17:41 2006
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
ERROR: No servers could be reached. Giving up
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Oct 04 13:18:11 2006
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
ERROR: No servers could be reached. Giving up
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Oct 04 13:18:41 2006
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address
ERROR: No servers could be reached. Giving up
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
ERROR: Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working.

--------------------------------------
Completed
--------------------------------------
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 894
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
these kind of problems happens on some win98 with some kind of network configurations, I'm still not able to reproduce it,
maybe a firewall or something is blocking dns resolution to freshclam.exe program?
View user's profileSend private message
Just A Suggestion...
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4292
Location: USA
Reply with quote
This is just a suggestion, and you might need one of the ClamWin team to tell you more, but you might try using ClamWin (and updating it) on the server instead of individual machines.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
warrior


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Location: U.S.A!
Reply with quote
k lost me some one said 98... I have a new 05 xp comp with all the good stuff.. The last post i do not know what you or talking about...
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
you report inidcates network connectivity problems. If you have a personal firewall please check that freshclam is allowed to connect.
View user's profileSend private message
warrior


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Location: U.S.A!
Reply with quote
alch wrote:
you report inidcates network connectivity problems. If you have a personal firewall please check that freshclam is allowed to connect.


I have 2 firewalls running, dont ask thats how i had my comp set up. I shut down both firewalls, and nothen. connectivity problems i run dsl so by connections not the cause...

I'll recheck somthing that could be causing it to night, but dont think it would.
View user's profileSend private message
warrior


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Location: U.S.A!
Reply with quote
nope still wont update...
View user's profileSend private message
Zone Alarm
Ernestto


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Hi,

I have Zone Alarm, I close try again and this message:

freshclam daemon 0.88.5 (OS: win32, ARCH: x86, CPU: i686)
ClamAV update process started at Mon Nov 20 13:37:50 2006
ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
main.cvd is up to date (version: 41, sigs: 73809, f-level: 10, builder: tkojm)
daily.cvd is up to date (version: 2205, sigs: 4035, f-level: 9, builder: arnaud)

http://www.sermaco.es/web/product_info.php?products_id=38&osCsid=6778cbdaafbf29dd99e6c65e985bc8e7 posicionamiento en buscadores


Last edited by Ernestto on Wed May 09, 2007 8:41 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
Update Problems
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4292
Location: USA
Reply with quote
The last update report you sent said that ClamWin was having a problem updating--just like the first one, but this time the problem was resolved by contacting via HTTP instead of FTP, so contact was made. The report went on to indicate that both your main database and your current database were up-to-date and didn't need any updating. Try again a little later to see what happens when new signatures are added. If they are added, you are okay. I get a contact problem every once in a while on my system.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Help....Virus Db archives
jujoboro


Joined: 28 Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Sorry for my english but nobody answer me in spanish

I need copy the next archive for an antvirus update but when I click this:

http://database.clamav.net/main.cvd
http://database.clamav.net/daily.cvd

The explorer present a long page of characters like a open file.

How I can copy this files
Thanks

Juan Jose
View user's profileSend private message
Signature Updates
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4292
Location: USA
Reply with quote
If you are using ClamWin on only one machine, you can download the signature database by a right click on the ClamWin icon in the system tray.

You can also use the Configuration menu (right click on icom and choose Configuration) to set up automatic updates.

Or you can Right click on the httpfilename you see (if you just click on it, you see the binary file) and select Save As and put it in your ClamWin database directory--in Windows SP it's C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
dtgorm


Joined: 14 Feb 2007
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Quote:
ClamAV update process started at Wed Feb 14 09:03:07 2007

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address

Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.

Trying again in 5 secs...

ClamAV update process started at Wed Feb 14 09:03:38 2007

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address

Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.

Trying again in 5 secs...

ClamAV update process started at Wed Feb 14 09:04:09 2007

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

ERROR: Can't get information about database.clamav.net: No IP address

Connection with database.clamav.net (IP: ???) failed.

Giving up on database.clamav.net...

ERROR: Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working.

LibClamAV Error: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

LibClamAV Error: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

LibClamAV Error: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net



--------------------------------------

Completed

--------------------------------------


Ok, so looks like there are some downed routes to clamav.net

I am on SBC/AT&T DSL and cannot route to clamav.net but tried pulling dns info from somewhere else and it was reachable.

Weird thing, i tried pinging clamav.net and then i was able to reach the clamav.net website... i then pinged database.clamav.net and now it looks like its downloading the main.cvd.. no idea.. try pinging them then try updating lol
View user's profileSend private message
Very great AV!!! But I have a problem with updates viruses..
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic