ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
How can i do for use ClamWin into WinRAR
Raul


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 41
Location: Spain
Reply with quote
Hello,
I have a question. I use WinRAR for package files like 7-Zip, RAR, Zip...
I don't know how do this on WinRAR.
My OS is Windows 7 SP1 64bits
Many thanks!
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4905
Location: USA
Reply with quote
There has apparently been a problem with using ClamWin to scan *.RAR files. See these old posts at http://forums.clamwin.com/viewtopic.php?t=479 on the ClamWin forum. The only thing I can tell you is to make sure that ClamWin Tools, Preferences. Limits is checked to extract files from archives. Evidently Clam AV has a problem with this, and the problem is carried over to ClamWin when the Clam AV Linux code is ported over to ClamAV Windows code.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Raul


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 41
Location: Spain
Reply with quote
I refer into WinRAR program. When I open a RAR file, 7-Zip, ZIP... it has WinRAR a option to use an antivirus on WinRAR.

The parameters that it give automaticaly when i select the "clamscan.exe" are:

C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\clamscan.exe

and them

"%f"


And the log is:

LibClamAV Error: cl_load(): No such file or directory: C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\database
ERROR: Can't get file status

----------- SCAN SUMMARY -----------
Known viruses: 0
Engine version: 0.103.2
Scanned directories: 0
Scanned files: 0
Infected files: 0
Data scanned: 0.00 MB
Data read: 0.00 MB (ratio 0.00:1)
Time: 0.004 sec (0 m 0 s)
Start Date: 2021:05:10 21:28:57
End Date: 2021:05:10 21:28:57

Presione una tecla para continuar . . .

Many thanks!
[/img]
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4905
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I appears that WinRAR has the wrong address for the ClamWin signature database. The correct location is C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db for the signatures. Note the dot is the first character in the address. It looks like WinRAR assumes the address is in the same /bin folder as the clamscan.exe scan module. Looks like a WinRAR problem--not a ClamWin problem.

You may be able to manually enter the correct location. If not, you can do a Windows Explorer right click to scan once you have unzipped a file.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Raul


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 41
Location: Spain
Reply with quote
Yes, but if use ClamWin form analyze.
Is there any parameters for this?


C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\clamscan.exe

This parameters "%f" are set automatically
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4905
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I don't think so. This appears to actually be a WinRAR problem that ClamWin is unable to deal with.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
artomberus


Joined: 24 Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Hi. Faced with the same problem. I have fixed it by creating a symbolic link.
mklink /j "C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db" "C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\database"
View user's profileSend private message
Raul


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 41
Location: Spain
Reply with quote
artomberus wrote:
Hi. Faced with the same problem. I have fixed it by creating a symbolic link.
mklink /j "C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db" "C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\database"


Thanks! How can it create a symbolic link?
View user's profileSend private message
artomberus


Joined: 24 Jun 2021
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Quote:
Thanks! How can it create a symbolic link?

Hi! Just open cmd.exe and run this. The key /j connects the folders. The first line is the path and name where we will have a link. The second is the path to the folder to which we refer.
View user's profileSend private message
How can i do for use ClamWin into WinRAR
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic