ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
New to Clamwin
papa-d


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I'm new to Clamwin, not technologically savvy and have a few questions for anyone who may be able to help:

When downloading Clamwin to my desktop (using Firefox), two setups downloaded, I don't know why, can I delete one? They appear to be the same version.

Clamwin found broken executables? What does this mean and what causes them? Is it enough to quarantine them to keep my computer operating normally?

What does "Mutating-INT FOUND" and is quarantine enough to stop it?

Thanks for any helpful responses.

papa-d
View user's profileSend private message
Re: New to Clamwin
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
papa-d wrote:
When downloading Clamwin to my desktop (using Firefox), two setups downloaded, I don't know why, can I delete one? They appear to be the same version.


You only need one installer file (currently clamwin-0.88.2.3-setup.exe, 5.477kB), so you can safely delete the other one.

papa-d wrote:
Clamwin found broken executables? What does this mean and what causes them? Is it enough to quarantine them to keep my computer operating normally?


ClamWin can be set to detect broken executables. These are files with a corrupt executable header. These files will probably not run anyway, but don't try your luck on a live system. If you like, you can put the detection of broken executables off in the ClamWin Preferences dialog, under the tab Advanced.

papa-d wrote:
What does "Mutating-INT FOUND" and is quarantine enough to stop it?


Not sure what you mean by this one.
View user's profileSend private message
papa-d


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply. As for the broken executable, would reinstalling repair it?

"Mutating-INT FOUND" is an exact quote from a ClamWin scan. The scan was set to "show infected files only" and this explanation showed up at the end of the infected file found by the scan.

If this helps would appreciate a reply.

Thanks.
View user's profileSend private message
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
Now I see: "Mutating-INT" is the name of the virus that is found in the infected file.

If you re?nstall the software package to which the broken executable belongs, it should be ok. If ClamWin still detects a broken executable, i suggest you turn broken executable detection off. This feature was recently added but does not seem to be completely reliable yet.
View user's profileSend private message
papa-d


Joined: 17 Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
budtse, thanks for your help! the broken executable was found in one file and I understand what you are saying about turning off that feature.

As for the "mutating-int" virus ClamWin found in a different file, the program was configured to quarantine the virus but not delete it. I'd like to know more about this virus and how to eradicate it, if possible.

Any thoughts?
View user's profileSend private message
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
Well if you want to know more about it you might want to google around for it.
View user's profileSend private message
before wasting my time!!
phipps_2000


Joined: 17 Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
just wondering because i cannot seem to find in these forums.
is it possible to use this program to do a full sytem scan?
or
does anyone know af a program (free prefered) that can be do full scan from bootble cd?

thanks in advance.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
bartpe with clamwin plugin
http://oss.netfarm.it/winpe/
View user's profileSend private message
Jim Cummins


Joined: 11 Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I too am new to Clamwin. It seems to be working OK and finds the viruses. However, I see no means or method for REMOVING the viruses. Is this done automatically, or is there some other feature I need?
View user's profileSend private message
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
Here's what to do :
- Open ClamWin
- Open Tools > Preferences
- On the General tab, you can choose what to do with detected virus files

We mostly recommend to Move to Quarantine, as the Remove option will let you no possibility of restoring the file if needed.

When you set that option and do a new scan, all infected files will be moved.
View user's profileSend private message
Habbakuk


Joined: 31 Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Hello, I have recently started using ClamWin also, and I have a question. Can I use ClamWin to scan incoming emails? And if so, how do I set it up?
http://www.oldewatches.com Swiss Replica Watches http://www.oldewatches.com/replica-watches-c-339.html Replica Watches http://www.swisswatchreplicas.com Swiss Watch Replicas http://www.oldewatches.com/replica-swiss-watches-c-340.html Swiss Replica Watch http://www.precisionreplicas.com Replica Watches http://www.precisionreplicas.com/replica-watches-c-339.html Replica Watch
Thanks.


Last edited by Habbakuk on Tue Dec 06, 2011 4:11 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4279
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Welcome to ClamWin! You can use ClamWin to scan Outlook emails via the Email configuration tab. That is the only email program that it officially works with. There used to be a couple of more unofficial ones--The Bat and Thunderbird plug-ins.

You can scan with ClamWin in real-time (including email folders) via the little Clam Sentinel program. Sentinel is a separate project, available at http://sourceforge.net/projects/clamsentinel/ on the web. ClamWin must be installed before Sentinel. Before using Sentinel, read the Simple Guide that comes with the program.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
hydroxycut123


Joined: 23 Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I'm reading reviews and comment for ClamWin. But I would like to know from you guys if this is a good software?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4279
Location: USA
Reply with quote
ClamWin does not scan in "real-time" as files are accessed on your computer. It is an on-demand scanner that scans when you tell it to or when a scan is scheduled. You need a real-time scanner on the internet to keep malware off your computer when/if you get it. ClamWin will not see malware until it scans a file that is already on your computer. By then, it may be too late to prevent damage by the malware. That is why you need a real-time scanner. You do not really need any other antivirus/antispyware/antimalware software besides one real-time scanner.

ClamWin is not as good as just about any real-time antivirus software, but it does make a good backup scanner to a real-time scanner. It does not interfere with a real-time scanner. It is primarily signature-based, and many commercial scanners are now primarily based in the "cloud".

You should not have more than one real-time scanner operating simultaneously in real-time on your computer--otherwise, they will consume too much of your computer resources, which makes your computer very slow, and they may interfere with each other. Free versions of real-time commercial antivirus software are available from Panda Free Cloud, Microsoft Security Essentials, Immunet Free, Avira AntiVir free and Avast free. I recommend them in the order I have listed.

The Clam Sentinel project (it's free like ClamWin but is a separate project) lets you scan with ClamWin as files are put on your computer and modified or copied on it. Clam Sentinel has its own heuristic scanner to detect malware for which ClamWin does not yet have signatures. ClamWin needs to be installed/configured before you install Clam Sentinel. Clam Sentinel is available at http://sourceforge.net/projects/clamsentinel/ on the web. Clam Sentinel has a more agressive update/improvement schedule than ClamWin.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Newbie with ClamWin
donnaruiz6558


Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi GuitarBob

Just downloaded and installed ClamWin and was reading this post, you said that Clamwin does not do any real time scan and that it might be too late when ClmWin will dtect any threat. Right now I use Avast free version and so far so good. I would like to try you other recommendations. Are you guys planning to do real time scan any time soon. If you need beta tester I would be available.

thanks
View user's profileSend private message
New to Clamwin
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic