ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Unable to update
branbran


Joined: 10 Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I am unable to update ClamWin. I get the same error message repeated.

I am able to update ClamAv on this same computer in GNU/Linux and Windows. (the windows port is an unofficial port).

Is this a bug I should file.


ClamAV update process started at Fri Mar 09 23:29:01 2012
WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Fri Mar 09 23:29:06 2012
WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Fri Mar 09 23:29:11 2012
WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in c:\users\brandon\appdata\local\temp\tmpxrqjda is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4363
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Did you check the http link for possible reasons, and do any of them apply to your situation? Have you been able to update ClamWin in the past? If so, have you made any change in your system that could be responsible--firewall, etc.? If you are using ClamWin for the first time, you might uninstall it and then do a re-installation in case the original install was a bad one.

I sometimes am unable to update but it usually works okay if I try again some time later.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
jessthebess12


Joined: 13 Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hello,

I am also getting the same error message every time i try to update ClamWin, I have tired re-installing but still not working.

Please can you advice

Many Thanks
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4363
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Did the ClamWin updates work okay for you at one time, or have you just recently installed ClamWin and have been unable to update since the install? Sometimes users may have to configure their firewall to allow ClamWin to update (freshclam.exe is the update program). Next question: can you update other software okay?

If you are using the internet through a proxy server, you need to fill in the items under the Proxy configuration tab.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Unable to update
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic