ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Updating on a domain
idkfa


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Hi all, I really like the look of Clamwin but cannot get it to update. I will be using it on Win98 PCs on a domain with Internet access via a proxy. I have tried various settings within IE and Clamwin thinking a certain combination of proxy setting may work but I cannot get clamwin to update. The error I get is pasted below:

-----
ClamAV update process started at Wed Feb 22 15:16:52 2012
WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Connecting via 192.9.200.252
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): nonblock_recv: recv timing out (30 secs)
WARNING: remote_cvdhead: Error while reading CVD header from database.clamav.net
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 192.9.200.252)
Trying again in 5 secs...
-----

I am fairly new to servers but am pretty sure this is just a firewall update needed to let it through? I can get to database.clamav.net on the offending PC via IE. If it is a firewall update what details will I need to do this?

Any help greatly appreciated
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4363
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Make sure to configure ClamWin to update in the Internet updates tab, and fill out the information on the Proxy tab. Also allow freshclam.exe in your firewall.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
idkfa


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Hi GB, Clamwin is set to use Internet to update and has proxy config entered. We use an ISA server for Internet access, is it just a case of adding a firewall rule to allow access to database.clamav.net? Is it just HTTP(S) traffic?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4363
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I'm not familiar with ISA servers, but see if it helps to give ClamWin freshclam.exe access to the web through your firewall. I belive the traffic is https. I've seen ClamWin update when a virus has killed everything else.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
idkfa


Joined: 22 Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Can't seem to get Clamwin to update this way so am now just trying a manual update. I have put daily.cvd and main.cvd on a file share giving all users full access. I have changed the preferences to not use a proxy and to look for updates at \\bff_srv1\Clamwin which is where the files are. The problem is its still not updating. This is the error I get:

ClamAV update process started at Tue Feb 28 08:51:56 2012

WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

Reading CVD header (main.cvd): WARNING: Can't get information about \\bff_srv1.bff.local\Clamwin\: No address associated with hostname

WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from \\bff_srv1.bff.local\Clamwin\ (IP: )

Trying again in 5 secs...

ClamAV update process started at Tue Feb 28 08:52:31 2012

WARNING: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

Reading CVD header (main.cvd): WARNING: Can't get information about \\bff_srv1.bff.local\Clamwin\: No address associated with hostname

WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from \\bff_srv1.bff.local\Clamwin\ (IP: )

Trying again in 5 secs...

--------------------------------------
Cancelled
--------------------------------------

There are temp files being created in this directory when I try and update but it won't complete. The firewall has been turned off. Am I missing something? Can this be fixed with a hosts file update?
View user's profileSend private message
PuntaCanaShop


Joined: 11 Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Location: Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Reply with quote
I had some nasty virus (Sality) that corrupted all my .exe files in backup , as well as some of installations from C/Program Files. I manage to clean it with portable Dr.Web Cure IT but it doesn't have real-time protection. Thinking to install ClamWin but this is second tread where I see that it have problems with update. I hope it is not some general problem ?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4363
Location: USA
Reply with quote
There is no general problem with updating ClamWin. The updates come from ClamAV which has lots of mirror sites. Sometimes after a new update, the mirrors will all have to be synchronized before you can update. I have seen that other problems are caused by user configuration (DNS, firewall, etc.). Just set updates to automatic and do a manual one now and then to make sure they are working.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Updating on a domain
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic