ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
0.96.4 Constantly errors
dbmdude


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
Will someone please tell me what the heck is going on.....

I have not had a virus definition update in 5 days... my log is full of the following:

ClamAV update process started at Mon Nov 22 22:49:40 2010
ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Mon Nov 22 22:49:45 2010
ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Mon Nov 22 22:49:50 2010
ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in c:\users\username\appdata\local\temp\tmp80emrn is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.


I have read multiple forums here and nothing really speaks the answer.... what the heck???? Can someone tell me how to get this fixed permanently??


Thanks
DBMDude
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Have you made any changes in your system just prior to the problem started--any new software added, etc?

Is ClamWin blocked for some reason in your firewall?

Is your ClamWin configured to allow automatic virus updates?

Is ClamWin blocked in your C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc Hosts file?

Are you able to update an other antivirus programs you have? Can you visit their web sites? Can you do a scan with it/them?

You might visit the Conficker Working Group website and take the Conficker infection test.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
cannot update ClamWin database
cafetono


Joined: 24 Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Location: Long Beach, CA, USA
Reply with quote
I'm experiencing exactly the same trouble for the better part of a week. Here is the output from my update attempt:

ClamAV update process started at Tue Nov 23 18:26:39 2010

ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket

WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )

Trying again in 5 secs...

ClamAV update process started at Tue Nov 23 18:26:44 2010

ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket

WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )

Trying again in 5 secs...

ClamAV update process started at Tue Nov 23 18:26:49 2010

ERROR: DNS Resolver: Can't query current.cvd.clamav.net

WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.

Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Can't create new socket

WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )

Giving up on database.clamav.net...

Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in c:\users\twilson\appdata\local\temp\tmpuzccl0 is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.



--------------------------------------

Completed

--------------------------------------



The Hosts file doesn't include any mention of either clamwin or clamav. Microsoft Forfront was recently installed on our network. I don't seem to have the credentials to modify or view the settings on Forefront, but winclam updates ran for several weeks after it was installed. Symantec antivirus updates, as does the Microsoft Security Essentials program. Spybot Search and Destroy updates as usual.

The conflicter eye-chart indicates that all is well.

I'm running Windows 7 Enterprise 64-bit. I'm also running Fedora 14, 64-bit on which clamav is running smoothly and freshclam is judiciously updating whenever I so choose.

Any suggestions?
Thanks
View user's profileSend private message
dbmdude


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
GuitarBob wrote:
Have you made any changes in your system just prior to the problem started--any new software added, etc?


NO

GuitarBob wrote:
Is ClamWin blocked for some reason in your firewall?


I dop not use a software firewall; and my hardware fierewall has NOT changed.

GuitarBob wrote:
Is your ClamWin configured to allow automatic virus updates?


YES

GuitarBob wrote:
Is ClamWin blocked in your C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc Hosts file?


I do not even know how to do this nor check for it. My host file has no clamwin entries in it.

GuitarBob wrote:
Are you able to update an other antivirus programs you have? Can you visit their web sites? Can you do a scan with it/them?


I do not have any other virus scanner.

GuitarBob wrote:
You might visit the Conficker Working Group website and take the Conficker infection test.


No infection per this website.

Added: I would also like to add that I uninstalled .96.4 and installed .96.1 and everything seems to be working perfectly.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Both of you seem to have a DNS problem. One has recently installed Microsoft Forefront, but ClamWin worked for a while after that and other installed security software is working. If you use a proxy to connect to the interent, make sure that ClamWin is configured for it via the Proxy tab.

ClamWin was recently upgraded to version .96.4, which I assume you are both using. Perhaps the problem is due to the new version. You mkight try uninstalling ClamWin .96.4 and then reinstalling it.

If the reinstall doesn't work, you can get the previous version 96.2.1 at http://sourceforge.net/projects/clamwin/files/clamwin/ on the web. You might want to uninstall .96.4 see if version .96.2.1 works okay for you.

You might try these suggestions and get back with results. That is about all I can think of. Perhaps one of the ClamWin developers can help.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
dbmdude


Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
GuitarBob wrote:
Both of you seem to have a DNS problem. One has recently installed Microsoft Forefront, but ClamWin worked for a while after that and other installed security software is working. If you use a proxy to connect to the interent, make sure that ClamWin is configured for it via the Proxy tab.

ClamWin was recently upgraded to version .96.4, which I assume you are both using. Perhaps the problem is due to the new version. You mkight try uninstalling ClamWin .96.4 and then reinstalling it.

If the reinstall doesn't work, you can get the previous version 96.2.1 at http://sourceforge.net/projects/clamwin/files/clamwin/ on the web. You might want to uninstall .96.4 see if version .96.2.1 works okay for you.

You might try these suggestions and get back with results. That is about all I can think of. Perhaps one of the ClamWin developers can help.

Regards,


My DNS is working fine. I already downgraded to 96.1 and it is working perfectly. I will "upgrade" to 96.2.1 as you suggest above.

Added: I "upgraded" to .96.2.1 and all is working perfectly!!
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I would keep using that version until you know for sure what is happening. I have been using 96.4 with Windows 7 and Vista without any problems, but I am an individual user. So there is probably something specific to the new version when used with your configuration that is causing the problem. I would suspect the firewall, proxy use, or perhaps a lack of privilege on a computer in a company environment. In a personal environment, perhaps a router needs to be configured for the new version.

There have been some problems with false positives on system files on the previous verson, so set ClamWin to Report Only (not Quarantine/Remove). Many servers lost their information because of this. On Vista/Windows 7, Clamwin has false positive protection, however.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
kronckew


Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Glos. UK
Reply with quote
i get exactly the same dns errors trying to update the database sigs, win7 x64, dns is working fine from all other programs, freshclam doesn't even try to get thru the firewall, no firewall activity at all when i run the update either from the gui or thru running freshclam by taskmanager.
have tried with/without firewall, and changing dns resolvers. tried a complete uninstall via revo, reinstall. still no updates.

it all worked fine prior to upgrade from 96.2.1 to the current version.

i am uninstalling the broken current version and reinstalling the older but working version.

edited:

reinstalled the 96.2.1, it works perfectly, downloads signature files w/o any problem. same firewall settings and a/v settings as with broken 96.4 version as well.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
There may be some problems with Win 7 X64. I can't get a scan report after a scan with mine, but I don't have any DNS problem. The developers are now testing a ClamWin version .96.5 release candidate. Let's see if that will fix this DNS thing. You can send Alch a personal message if you would like to be a beta tester.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
kronckew


Joined: 05 Dec 2010
Posts: 5
Location: Glos. UK
Reply with quote
tried the 0.96.5*, same same. dns errors & no download. back to the 0.96.2.1 release again.

*tried to save a copy of the 'update' report, got a dll error. 'common dialog error', failed with error code ffff.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Are you running ClamWin as a Win 7 X64 app or as a 32 bit app?

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 898
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
please try this tool with default settings:
http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav/files/dnschecker.exe http://oss.netfarm.it/clamav/files/dnschecker.exe
tell me the results of the query
View user's profileSend private message
phantasyconcepts


Joined: 10 Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Reply with quote
kronckew wrote:
tried the 0.96.5*, same same. dns errors & no download. back to the 0.96.2.1 release again.

*tried to save a copy of the 'update' report, got a dll error. 'common dialog error', failed with error code ffff.


This has been a problem with Clam Antivirus before. Back in the 0.92 days (yes, I have been a big fan and user of Clam Antivirus for a long time) the same thing happened to people. It is especially true when they change the engine, though usually it was only on 'major' versions. The clamwin program, however, has gone seriously downhill since the Clam AV folks allowed a commercial company to offer support for it. They actually charge you for a working version of Clam Antivirus. If you don't pay them, they try to extort support fees at the rate of US$100 per month. I don't mind paying for support, but when a company cripples the engine for the Antivirus program in the 'free download', then tries to charge you that much for support, it is extremely irritating. Of course, I am still waiting for them to sue me as they claimed they were going to when I started cursing them out on the phone. I think they realized that their lawsuit would allow me to put a name on the criminal charges of fraud, theft by deception and extortion that I offered to counter with.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4376
Location: USA
Reply with quote
ClamWin has nothing to do with the supported version of Clam AV for Windows. Immunet, a commercial company is responsible for suporting that version--either through its user forum for the free version or via direct commercial support for the "enhanced" version, which includes protection that ClamWin already comes with--local signatures and protection for more than just Windows executables. Immunet is still working on a new product that has barely been out a year, and they are running both the Clam for Windows scanning engine and their own engine.

I do not believe there is any intentional degredation of the Clam AV engine on the part of either Clam or ClamWin (for the Windows port). Unrecognized problems are due to a lack of development personnel and beta testers for both Clam AV and for the separate ClamWin Windows port. Most of the problems I see on the ClamWin side could be detected earlier if there were more beta testers on more Windows operating systems. Now if the developers only had time to quickly address the problems...

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
phantasyconcepts


Joined: 10 Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Location: New Cumberland, PA
Reply with quote
GuitarBob wrote:

I do not believe there is any intentional degredation of the Clam AV engine on the part of either Clam or ClamWin (for the Windows port). Unrecognized problems are due to a lack of development personnel and beta testers for both Clam AV and for the separate ClamWin Windows port. Most of the problems I see on the ClamWin side could be detected earlier if there were more beta testers on more Windows operating systems. Now if the developers only had time to quickly address the problems...

Regards,


How about postng a link to the beta test or developer sign-up page? I prefer to use Linux,but this Vista 64-bit box needs antivirus more than Linux. Oh, and coincidentally, the free version of clamwin does not exist any longer from the last time I tried to download it for my brother. The link only went to Immunet's product, and they did not allow anyone into their forums without paying for support. When I called them up they told me in no uncertain terms that there was no support for the free version. I also did not mean to suggest that the degradation of the code was the fault of the ClamWin developers intentionally trying to downgrade it.
View user's profileSend private message
0.96.4 Constantly errors
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic