ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Welcome to the Virus Scanner Support Forum
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
Welcome to the Virus Scanner Support Forum

Since the beginning of the project we had support forums on http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=363174 sourceforge.net site, however as ClamWin Free Antivirus project became more popular the number of threads and posts increased dramatically. Therefore sourceforge.net forums became increasingly difficult to use due to the deficiencies in navigation.

Whilst being grateful to Sourceforge for providing the great hosting service for our project needs, we had to make a decision and move the forums here. We hope you will be able to submit and access the information more easily here.

We will be progressively moving relevant support threads from the http://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?forum_id=363174 sourceforge.net forums here.

Thank you,

ClamWin Free Antivirus Team
View user's profileSend private message
guy1


Joined: 22 Aug 2008
Posts: 17
Location: Spokane
Reply with quote
These forums are better Smile. Thx admin
View user's profileSend private message
Valiente


Joined: 20 Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
It's possible a spanish subforum ?

Thanks
View user's profileSend private message
scanner
sweetfreedom46


Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 1
Location: adelaide
Reply with quote
just finished scanning and lve got 12 infected files,this is what l get for letting kids use the puter.not a total dummie with puter but how the hell am l to fix these files. Crying or Very sad Embarassed Mad
would appreciate some help here plz.[/b]
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4254
Location: USA
Reply with quote
You can set ClamWin to Report, Quarantine, or Remove infected files. It comes with the Report default, and it's usually best to leave it like that, verify the files are really infected, and then manually delete the file on your computer or set ClamWin to Quarantine or Remove it and do another scan.

What are the files ClamWin sees as infected? There have been lots of "false positive" detections lately. A "false positive" is when ClamWin detects a file as infected but it is not--it just has some code that is similar to the code of some virus. You do not want to Quarantine or Remove a file that is false positive. If you do, you can lose access to the Windows operating system if it is a Windows file with the false positive. And you don't want to have to reinstall an important program file if it had a false postive.

You can verify if a file is really infected by uploading it to Jotti or Virus Total, two scanning services that provide free scans of files with multiple antivirus programs, including Clam. If several other AVs besides Clam AV (Clam AV provides the detection engine and virus signature database for ClamWin) find an infection (I like to see four or five at least), it is probably a real infection and not a false positive, so you can safely remove it from your machine. Jotti is at http://virusscan.jotti.org/ on the web, and VirusTotal is at http://www.virustotal.com/ on the web. If it turns out to be a false positive, you can submit it to Clam so they can fix it. The Clam submission page/process starts at http://www.clamav.net/sendvirus/ on the web. This is where you submit both false positives and new viruses that Clam/ClamWin do not detect. When you get to the actual submisson page, be sure to tell them the name of the virus that is falsely detected and why you think it is a false positive.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
sandworm


Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I have a problem with all that Anti-virus stuff.
I have scanned my Pc with many of the Anti-virus softwares but they always show different results from each other.


Last edited by sandworm on Tue Oct 27, 2009 3:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4254
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I'm not sure what you mean by different results. AVs don't necessarily use the same names for viruses, of course. Some AV programs are better than others. Some AVs are quicker than others at developing virus signatures. Most AVs have people that work pretty hard to improve their program, keep up their signatures, and keep up with malware trends and developments. Instead of shopping AVs, you are probably better off staying with one that is easy for you to use and that is in your price range (they range in cost from free like ClamWin and a few others on up to $60 or so for one of the major commercial ones). Whichever one you use, support it by suggesting improvements and submitting samples of viruses it doesn't detect. No AV is perfect, and, ultimately, no AV is going to be any better than its users.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
inklings


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 1
Location: Canada
Reply with quote
Used your clamwin for the first time today
Awesome is the only way to describe you guys.
I definitely will spread the word about clamwin and plan to definitely make a donation.
Thanks again guys
View user's profileSend private message
41 threat Acgenral.dll Svchost
clamwinone


Joined: 22 May 2010
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
i need help here
i have been using the clamwin latest
and get update the latest cvd virus database.

but it did not detect threat that i found on clamav win 32.

i found an error on my pc xp sp2
ACGENRAL.dll and SVCHOST

Clamav win 32 detect the threat into 40 threat
and increasing now it's 41 threat,

the effect of this is pc some times hang on certain minutes , it happens like 1 minute or 5,

while clamav win detect the threat but it canot clean the problem,

but why ClamWin did not detect it, while it read the Acgenral when it scan the system,

the clamav win 32 also only detect the threat when i am using FlashScan, which clamwin didn't have any ?

help ?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4254
Location: USA
Reply with quote
ClamWin can only detect viruses that are in its signature database. The database is furnished by Clam AV, which also furnishes the scanning engine for ClamWin. If there is a virus that ClamWin does not detect, you should submit a sample of the file with the virus to Clam AV at http://www.clamav.net/lang/en/sendvirus on the web.

ClamWin is only designed to detect viruses. It does not clean them. It can only delete or quarantine files that are infected.

I recommend you do a scan with Malwarebytes' free version of their Antimalware program. It is very good at finding infections once they get on your computer.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
How to restore files from quarantine?
manohar


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
I installed clamwin and scanned my system today, with the option to quarantine the infected files. After the scan a lot of infected files were quarantined. Now, when I double click on any drive (including C:\), the window 'please select the program to open this file with' opens up. I can now enter the drives only through exploring. I would like to restore the quarantined files. How can I do that?

and how can I start a new post on any forum? I couldn't see any option for this.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4254
Location: USA
Reply with quote
You can start a new topic by selecting a ClamWin forum, going to the bottom and selecting New Topic (on the bottom left).

I recommend you keep ClamWin's Infected Files Option Set to othe Report Only default (it comes set to that) to prevent quarantine/removal of important system files due to false positive detections. I think this is your problem. See if you can use System Restore to go back to a time before you did the ClamWin scan that mistakenly quarantined those systems files.

If that doesn't work, see if you can find where each file is located on a similar machine and move/copy each such file from your quarantine folder to where it should be. Remove the "infected" at the end of the file name.

Plan C is to restore/repare your Windows system.

You must have an older computer because there is some protection in ClamWin now to prevent false positive quarantine/removal of system files on Vista/Windows 7 computers

Make note of one of the false "viruses" detected and report a false positive to Clam AV at http://www.clamav.net/lang/en/sendvirus/ on the web. Be sure to indicate it is a false positive, and tell them the exact name of the falsely-detected virus in the comments section.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Quarantine issue
manohar


Joined: 01 Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Thank you Guitarbob. I tried to restore the system but it did not work. There should be a warning in the scanner if the files cannot be restored from quarantine. Normally all the AV programs give an option to restore files from quarantine. Now I think I am into big trouble because of this. The computer is on VPN and if I repair my windows it may remove some exclusive programmes, which cannot be reloaded by me. Please tell me if there is any alternative to this problem. I regret that I opted for an anti-virus which is not properly tested before its release. What if I uninstall Clamwin. Would there be any chance of the removed files getting loaded back to their original place. There are more than 100 files which have been moved to quarantine and its time consuming to check for their locations in other computers and restoring. This, I feel, is a major flaw in this AV. What's the use of keeping the option to "report only". How many people would have the expertise to decide whether it is safe to remove an infected file? What's the difference between deleting/removing and quarantine then? Most of the removed files are on C:\system volume information\_restore\....... The OS is Win XP SP2.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4254
Location: USA
Reply with quote
The installed default option is Report Only for infected files, and it must be manually changed to something else.

You are correct--there should be a mechanism for restoring files from quarantine. ClamWin is actually beta software (current version no. is less than 1.0 at .96.3), and it is designed primarily for personal use--not for use on networked or production computers. Perhaps the Report Only option with email notification to the system administrator would be good. Additionally, for network/production use, a program like ClamWin should be thoroughtly checked before release on producton hardware.

Anyway, that does not help with your problem. I know of no way to restore from quarantine other than what I mentioned--it must be done manually in some fashion.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Nattydee
Guest

Reply with quote
I just install this antivirus to my machine, hope it is correct decision. From what I have read here, there are some point that need to be care when we use it. Anyway I would like to say thank you for you guys that keep update thing here and I will do also.
Welcome to the Virus Scanner Support Forum
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 3  

  
  
 Reply to topic