ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
malformed database
Larrya


Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
I update to .96.0.1 today on Windows vista (32bit) and everytime I run a scan, manually or scheduled, I get
"Malformed database". The help screen says the version number is 0.96.0.1.

I downloaded install file for 0.96.0.1 again, installed and rebooted the computer. I still get
the message "Malformed database"

Daily updates seem to be completing ok
--------------------------------------
ClamAV update process started at Thu Apr 15 18:08:59 2010
main.cvd is up to date (version: 52, sigs: 704727, f-level: 44, builder: sven)
daily.cld is up to date (version: 10750, sigs: 52055, f-level: 51, builder: neo)
bytecode.cld is up to date (version: 8, sigs: 1, f-level: 51, builder: nervous)

Scan Started Thu Apr 15 18:09:08 2010
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ERROR: Malformed database
----------- SCAN SUMMARY -----------
Known viruses: 0
Engine version: 0.96
Scanned directories: 0
Scanned files: 0
Infected files: 0
Data scanned: 0.00 MB
Data read: 0.00 MB (ratio 0.00:1)
Time: 0.015 sec (0 m 0 s)
-------------------------------------
Completed
-----------------------------------
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1719
Reply with quote
0.96.0.1 installer should have cleaned your database directory but failed for some reason.
Please open C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ folder in Windows Explorer and delete all files in it, then re-download the database update. It should help;
View user's profileSend private message
Larrya


Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 2
Location: Ohio
Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply alch,

the database files appeared in 2 places, just deleting the files C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ and installing the update again did not change the error.

Here is what did work
1) delete all files in C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ folder
2) deleted all files in C:\.clamwin\db\ folder
3) uninstall clamwin, which needs to restart the computer.
(this action deleted both \.clamwin folders)
4) download and install version 0.96.0.1
(only folder C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\ exists now)
5) scans are normal now
6) since I had to uninstall/reinstall clamwin, I had to set my preferences and schedules again.

appreciate the info that lead to the solution.
Larrya
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3608
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Make sure that ClamWin can update okay now. Having two folders was strange.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
claudiuc


Joined: 16 Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Seems to be a bad daily update Sad
Same problem on my servers, after last freshclam found this error. Deleting daily file solved the issue.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3608
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Yesterday was the day Clam AV switched off versions older than .95.2. I understand users of older versions were to receive a malformed database message when this was done. You have version .96, however, so that shouldn't apply.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
MALFORMED DATABASE
Mac49PC12


Joined: 19 Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I am getting MALFORMED DATABASE error when i updated to 0.96.0.1. i do not have C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ folder on my computer. i did find C:\.clamwin\db\ folder and deleted the files and updated. no help. i have uninstalled; rebooted; reinstalled many times. still same problem.

HELP!!
View user's profileSend private message
Re: MALFORMED DATABASE
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1719
Reply with quote
Mac49PC12 wrote:
I am getting MALFORMED DATABASE error when i updated to 0.96.0.1. i do not have C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ folder on my computer. i did find C:\.clamwin\db\ folder and deleted the files and updated. no help. i have uninstalled; rebooted; reinstalled many times. still same problem.

HELP!!


Are you by any chance using ClamWin Portable?


If you use Windows XP then the db is in
c:\documents and settings\all users\.clamwin\db
View user's profileSend private message
luzagodom


Joined: 19 May 2010
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Here is what did work
1) delete all files in C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\db\ folder
2) deleted all files in C:\.clamwin\db\ folder
3) uninstall clamwin, which needs to restart the computer.
(this action deleted both \.clamwin folders)
4) download and install version 0.96.0.1
(only folder C:\ProgramData\.clamwin\ exists now)
5) scans are normal now
6) since I had to uninstall/reinstall clamwin, I had to set my preferences and schedules again.
View user's profileSend private message
malformed database
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic