ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Need help with a basic use of ClamWin
Edy


Joined: 04 Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Vancouver
Reply with quote
Hi,
Could anybody tell me what should I do with the list of infeced files after complitted scan. I thought that they would be removed outomatically bty the program. After I rescan I see the same number of infected files. How come there is so many infected files found by ClamWin when my Norton anyvirus doesn't show any, Thanks

Edy
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4341
Location: USA
Reply with quote
It might help to understand your situation better if you could post a ClamWin scan log. Anyway, ClamWin will only remove infected files if you set that preference in the general preferences. You can set preferences to report only, quarantine, or remove. If you quarantine something, you will still have to manually remove it from quarantine--although the file will do no harm there.

I suggest using report only, which is the default--for a good reason. Once in a while you can get a false positive for an infection in an important file. If it is a system file and you remove or quarantine it, you could lose access to your Windows system (happened to me once). So I use report only, and when ClamWin spots an infection, I note the location of the file per the scan report. I will then upload a copy of that file to Jotti for a free scan with multiple antiviruses. Jotti is at http://virusscan.jotti.org/ on the Web. If several other AV programs on Jotti spot an infection (say four or more), it is probably a real infection, and you can manually delete the file from your computer.

If it is a false positive, tell Clam about it at http://cgi.clamav.net/sendvirus.cgi on the Web. Fill out the submission form, upload a copy of the false positive file, check the false positive block, and tell them the name of the false positive in the notes section. This is where you can also upload copies of files that are infected with a virus that Clam/ClamWin doesn't detect.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Annoying notification
Vakar


Joined: 04 Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Location: Estonia
Reply with quote
I just start using the ClamWin. When I click something, it notificates me, that database is five days old and I must update it. I already update it three times. It`s very annoying, so thanks, when somebody can help. And does scanning always take so long?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4341
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Scanning with ClamWin takes quite a bit of time compared to the paid antivirus programs because it is not optimized. Version 1.0 (no release date) will include some optimizing scan techniques. For the present, you can use ClamWin's Filter preference tab to only scan for file extensions that are most likely to harbor viruses--there are about 50 or so of them. Here's a link to a list that I like: http://safecomputing.ttu.edu/lubbock/recommended/fileextensions.php on the web.

Right click on the ClamWin icon, click Preferences, Filters and fill out the Scan Only Matching Filenames column. Start/add an extension by going to the blank box. Here is the format to use: *.exe. Put a star and a dot before each extension, and the three letter extensions should be in small letters. To the Texas Tech extenions referenced above, I would add these documents extensions: doc, ppt, xls, pdf, rtf and these archive/compressed extensions: zip, rar, tar, 7z, and gz.

By scanning only for files that are most likely to contain viruses, you can speed up your scans at least 50% and maybe more. Additionally, you don't really have to scan your entire hard drive. The most important directories to scan are WINDOWS and Documents/Settings--most viruses I see are in them.

Finally, since Clamwin is beta software at present, and it is an on-demand (not a real-time) file scanner, it is best to use a real-time, on-access scanner as your main scanner and keep Clamwin as a backup. There are several decent free antivirus/security products. I suggest PC Tools' free Threatfire behavior blocker for a real-time malware scanner and Microsoft's free Windows Defender for a real-time antispyware scanner. Both are reliable and don't consume a large amount of computer resources. Threatfire also comes with a built-in file scanner version of PC Tools' antivirus scanner, but I prefer to ignore it and just schedule a couple of ClamWin scans every day. Clamwin is just as good a scanner, if not better, and it's updated more frequently.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Where is infected file?
crsmieja


Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
My Clamwin virus scan says I have one infected file, but I have no idea where it is in the report. I could really use some help. The scan has never came up with an infected file before. Thanks.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4341
Location: USA
Reply with quote
What do you have Clamwin's Infected File Preference (one of the General Preference Tab options) set to--Report, Quarantine, or Delete?

If it is set to Quarantine, then the file is now in the Quarantine directory, which you can find by looking at ClamWin's General Preferences. The location of the Quarantine file is shown below the Move To Quarantine Folder Option.

If it is set to Delete, then it is no longer on your computer.

If it is set to Report, I suggest you re-scan and at the end of the scan, choose to save a detailed report file. This report file will show the location of the infected file on your computer. The location of the Scan Report file will be shown when you select the Reports tab.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Need help with a basic use of ClamWin
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic