ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
unable to access server
veebis


Joined: 17 Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
v.94.1 in XP Pro/SP2 on ThinkPadx41

New user.
Cannot update via auto or using manual DL locations provided, as I am "unable to access server."
Tried with Firewall turned OFF, also turned ON w/clamwin.exe and freshclam.exe excepted.

What up!?
Thanks for any help. Would love to get this working.

Update error log:
ClamAV update process started at Sat Jan 17 09:43:20 2009
main.cvd is up to date (version: 49, sigs: 437972, f-level: 35, builder: sven)
nonblock_connect: giving up due to excessive bogus loops
Can't connect to port 80 of host database.clamav.net (IP: 127.0.0.1)
WARNING: getpatch: Can't download daily-8594.cdiff from database.clamav.net
nonblock_connect: giving up due to excessive bogus loops
Can't connect to port 80 of host database.clamav.net (IP: 127.0.0.1)
WARNING: getpatch: Can't download daily-8594.cdiff from database.clamav.net
nonblock_connect: giving up due to excessive bogus loops
Can't connect to port 80 of host database.clamav.net (IP: 127.0.0.1)
WARNING: getpatch: Can't download daily-8594.cdiff from database.clamav.net
nonblock_connect: giving up due to excessive bogus loops
Can't connect to port 80 of host database.clamav.net (IP: 127.0.0.1)
WARNING: Can't download daily.cvd from database.clamav.net
Trying again in 5 secs...
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4292
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Make sure that your ClamWin preferences - Internet Updates is set to Enable Automatic Updates. Other than that suggestion, afraid I can't be of much help if server/firewall problems. I ocasionally have an updating problem due to lack of Clam mirror synch or other such problems, but I try it again in 15/20 minutes, and it usually updates okay. Give it several tries.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
any alternative download servers?
veebis


Joined: 17 Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Thanks for the reply.
Settings already per your suggestion,many/multiple tries, no go at all.
I can access the ClamWin website, but not the server hosting the updates...
Is there by any chance an alternative download site?
I wouldn't mind updating manually, if that's possible... Can't access the manual DL server directly either (same response).

Thanks,
-Vb
View user's profileSend private message
pob


Joined: 27 Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Location: california
Reply with quote
It's possible that you have a virus, like the Conficker virus.

Go out to www.microsoft.com, search for the kb890830 article (or the file windows-kb890830-v2.6.exe) and run this on your system. If your system is compromised like mine was, then you might have to download this "fix" file from another machine.

One of the problems I was having is that when I pinged database.clamav.net, DNS failed for some reason. However, "nslookup database.clamav.net" returned an IP address I was able to use. In fact, I had real problems reaching a lot of the sites that mattered to fix this problem, like Microsoft, MacAffee, etc. Setting values in my local hosts file helped me to download the .EXE above, and I found that Conficker/B was on all of my windows machines (which is curious, as I don't download very much, and work mainly on Linux boxes.)

In any case, once the tool is run a couple of times, with a couple of reboots, and then once I upgraded to Win XP SP3 on two boxes, and upgraded Windows 2000 also, the problem appears to be gone. On Windows 2000 errors were being trapped because of illegal memory accesses by svchost.exe, which is generally a Windows service, but can also be a target for virusware.

So, in short, if the IP addess returned by nslookup, and entered in your Clamwin Preferences->Internet Updates (in the Download Site textbox) gets you the updates, and you are having trouble accessing various sites, then you should at least consider the steps above.

Tedious, nasty, and time-wasting, which is why I like my Linux so much better...

HTH,

pob
View user's profileSend private message
pob


Joined: 27 Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Location: california
Reply with quote
Apparently the MS tool I mentioned in the last post doesn't completely get rid of the Downadup or Conficker.A or Conficker.B virus (all the same virus, under different names) - well, it doesn't get rid of it under some conditions.

So I searched Symantec and found a FixDownadup.exe tool that appears to do some more (it lists the fact that it removes 4 Registry entries), and it also points to the relevant security update on the MS download page.
View user's profileSend private message
unable to access server
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic