ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Scanning Stops midway through command-line job
SupermanSC


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
I have a command-line job running on a system with about 1.1 Million files, nearly all of which are under 5k in size. The files are spread throughout numerous directories, and when running clamwin on the entire volume, it usually gets 40-50% of the way through the job, then exits back to a command prompt. Here's the last 15-20 lines of the job:

Scanning d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/200603312120075D81.tmp
LibClamAV Error: Can's fstat descriptor 4
d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/200603312120075D81.tmp: Input/Output error
Scanning d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/200603312315168049.tmp
LibClamAV Error: Can's fstat descriptor 4
d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/200603312315168049.tmp: Input/Output error
Scanning d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/20060401003619ACA7.tmp
ERROR: Can't open file d:\maildata\mail/xxx.xxx/yyy/200604010036
19ACA7.tmp
Scanning d:\maildata\mail/index.dat
d:\maildata\mail/index.dat: OK

----------- SCAN SUMMARY -----------
Known viruses: 50700
Engine version: 0.88.1
Scanned directories: 10126
Scanned files: 545537
Infected files: 470
Data scanned: 31354.24 MB
Time: 39414.507 sec (656 m 54 s)

The paramaters on the scan job are:

clamscan -d "c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db" -v -l c:\clam-av.log -r --move=c:\infect d:\mail\domains\

Any ideas as to why this would occur?

-Mark
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
why do you think there is an erroClamav may skip certain files (mp3, avi, txt,empy iles,, etc) so thescanned files count doesn't have to equal the total files count.
View user's profileSend private message
SupermanSC


Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
Because there are no mp3, avi, txt, etc. files. They are *all* .tmp files, and the scanning stops 1/2 way through the directory tree (on this last run, it stopped on the l* directories). I simply replaced the actual directory name with xxx.xxx, but ClamAV works through the directories alphabetically and stops 1/2 way through.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
run it with --debug switch, it will produce verbose output and most likely find the cause of this error
View user's profileSend private message
Scanning Stops midway through command-line job
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic