ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
ClamWin scan shuts computer down
DrBubba


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I have an HP ze4546sr Pavilion notebook that I actually used ClamWin on earlier. I had a hard drive problem, bought a new one, restored it with the restoration CDs, and loaded all software that I wanted on it (not necessarily the same as it was before the drive problem). Anyway, I downloaded ClamWin again, and now when I scan C: drive, it scans for a good while and then shuts the PC down. Not a re-boot....it shuts it down totally. I THINK that it shut down at the same point in the scan, but I cannot surely attest to that.

I am also noticing a good bit of that "Page not dislayed" error when I get online, if thathas anything to do with it.

Thanks!!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
clamwin itself cannot shutdown your pc. If iti happenning during scanning then it must be accessing a damaged file and windows crashes. Check your disk for filesystem errors.
View user's profileSend private message
DrBubba


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Many thanks for the reply. I actually did not think that ClamWin was truly shutting the machine down...I assumed something similar to what you said, and that whatever was giving me the browser problems may be affected by the scan, and shutting it down. I thought that maybe it was some malware that, once established on a machine, stops you from loading some AV wares like Norton, etc., and that since ClamWin did not auto scan files, I thought that this malware was trying to keep ClamWin from "finding" and/or removing this malware. I may be FAR off here, and I know I did not explain that good, but that was my line of thought. The browser errors and this started simultaneously, even thought that may be a coincidence. That was why I was running a ClamWin scan, anyway, mainly to try to see if I find any spyware or other malware that may have been resulting in the broswer problem.

That said, I don't know how to "Check your disk for filesystem errors". I really and truly appreciate the info, but I simply have no idea how to even start doing that!! Now, I had just loaded OmniPage 14.0, which most likely had nothing at all to do with it, but since I did not know for sure I uninstalled it, hoping for the best. So far, no browser errors, but they were somewhat sporadic anyway, so I will wait a while and see. If I still get no browser errors for a while, I will try to run a ClamWin scan again. That's a stab in the dark, I know, but hey, in the absence of anything else to try, what else could I do?

Finally, IF it is easy for anyone to show me how to "Check [my] disk for filesystem errors", I sure would appreciate a little heads-up on that!! Thanks again!!!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
To check your disk :

- Open Windows Explorer
- right-click on the drive that needs to be checked and click "properties" in the context menu
- In the tab "Tools", you will find the button "Check Now...".
That is what you need.
View user's profileSend private message
DrBubba


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
I found out the problem....Here is something I posted on another forum that explains what the deal was:

The machine that I was using is an "extra" laptop of mine, one that I use when my "main" one is otherwise occupied, and I also use it where I need a serial port (RS 232). It's a HP Pavilion SE4546SR. Well, several weeks ago, I bought an electric R/C helicopter, and it came with a simulator. You hook your R/C transmitter to your computer, and run the simulator. It's neat because you use the exact control system that you will be using when you fly, not some game joystick setup. Anyway, twice while I was running this sim software, my machine would die. Not a re-boot...it would just die. Then, I got a warning that my hard drive was about to die, and five minutes later it crashed. I tried everything, even a external hard drive, but I would get error messages saying that something or another "was not done by the manufacturer" for the external hard drive. In other words, there was some sort of configuration or something that I needed to do. Well, I fought that for a couple days, and then I bought an internal HD off of eBay. I got it in in about 4 days, installed it and I was up and running within 5 minutes.

All was good until I tried to scan it with ClamWin antivirus. A while into the scan it would die. I tried everything, up to consulting ClamWin's forums here (I thought I had some infection that was shutting the A/V software down). Again, it would shut down about 10-15 minutes into the scan process, NOT re-boot. I even stared at the scanned files as they scrolled by, trying to see if it was one certain file that was being scanned that killed the machine, and as hard as that was, believe me it was, staring dead at these speedy flashing filenames waiting for the machine to die. I saw the filename that killed it twice, and there was no relation at all. Well, I was about to give up, on my last try doing a little something someone told me to try, and of course, about 20 minutes into the scan, it dies. I said to myself, "This is it...enough", and as I reached up to re-boot it, I hit the switch, and just then something came on the news on TV, so I looked up and hesitated as I pulled my hand back from turning the machine on, and through some stroke of luck (or God taking care of an idiot), I happened to feel the exhaust from the little cooling fan, and it felt like fumes from Kilauea. I am talking hot beyond belief.

I put a fan on the side of the machine, and ClamWin scanned my machine to completion over the next three and a half hours. I left the fan on it, and it runs just fine now....no moreother browser errors at all. Now, I see that the heavy processing of the simulator and the ClamWin or other AV scans get the thing hot enough to kill the power to it. I feel confident that this is what burnt up my first HD...it seems that way to me anyway.

No big deal, really....I just ordered a new "main" computer, so I am fine even with this thing running hot. I can put a fan on it when I do need to use it. However, I am thinking that maybe there is a dust coating on some sort of heat dissipation equipment in the case, and I may check that if the problem persists or gets worse.

What gets me is that the RAM on this thing is only 256...I was gonna put at least another 256 stick in, but the heat then would really be bad. There's a problem, no doubt, but as I said the fan does fine as a stop gap measure.
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
most likely BIOS shuts the computer down when the CPU temperature goes beyond certain value. I had similar issue when I forgot to plug the CPU FAN into the motherboard.
View user's profileSend private message
DrBubba


Joined: 06 Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
That sounds perfectly logical...I just wonder what brought it on all of a sudden. The fan is exhausting, and that is what keyed me in on the problem. I guess I need to crack the thing open and see the fan...see what it looks like, if it's dirty, that sorta thing. I may be oversimplifying matters here, but maybe it's caked with dust in there and screwing up the heat exchange or something. I don't think that I broke a blade off of the fan, but who knows? Whatever it is, it came on somewhat suddenly.

Thanks for the help!!
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
ClamWin scan shuts computer down
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic