ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Web filter and database updates
a_ryan1972


Joined: 12 Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi, I'm using Bluecoat K9 web filter. When I try to update the database, I get the following message:

--------------------------------------
freshclam 0.91.2 (OS: win32, ARCH: x86, CPU: i686)
ClamAV update process started at Mon Dec 10 13:33:00 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): OK

main.cvd updated (version: 45, sigs: 169676, f-level: 21, builder: sven)
Reading CVD header (daily.cvd): OK


daily.cvd updated (version: 5077, sigs: 4876, f-level: 21, builder: ccordes)
Database updated (174552 signatures) from database.clamav.net (IP: 206.154.203.213)
--------------------------------------
freshclam 0.91.2 (OS: win32, ARCH: x86, CPU: i686)
ClamAV update process started at Tue Dec 11 13:32:00 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 155.98.64.86)
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Tue Dec 11 13:32:15 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 155.98.64.86)
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Tue Dec 11 13:32:31 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 155.98.64.86)
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.
--------------------------------------
freshclam 0.91.2 (OS: win32, ARCH: x86, CPU: i686)
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:13:31 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 64.186.240.114)
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:13:48 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 64.186.240.114)
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:14:03 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): ERROR: Unknown response from remote server
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: 64.186.240.114)
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.
--------------------------------------
freshclam 0.91.2 (OS: win32, ARCH: x86, CPU: i686)
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:15:52 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): Ignoring mirror 64.186.240.114 (due to previous errors)
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:16:07 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): Ignoring mirror 64.186.240.114 (due to previous errors)
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Trying again in 5 secs...
ClamAV update process started at Wed Dec 12 11:16:22 2007
WARNING: Invalid DNS reply. Falling back to HTTP mode.
Reading CVD header (main.cvd): Ignoring mirror 64.186.240.114 (due to previous errors)
WARNING: Can't read main.cvd header from database.clamav.net (IP: )
Giving up on database.clamav.net...
Update failed. Your network may be down or none of the mirrors listed in freshclam.conf is working. Check http://www.clamav.net/support/mirror-problem for possible reasons.

What is the exact site I have to enter into the filter to allow it to access the updates?

Thank you.
View user's profileSend private message
Same problem
bj w00d


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
It's 7 years later and I have this EXACT SAME PROBLEM. This still hasn't been fixed,SERIOUSLY?!?!
View user's profileSend private message
ROCKNROLLKID


Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 228
Location: **UNKNOWN**
Reply with quote
ClamWin runs off the ClamAV scan engine and database, that includes updates with ClamWin. You should contact ClamAV support here: http://www.clamav.net/contact.html as the issue is on their side.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3669
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Have you been using ClamWin all these years or did you just check to see how it is going?

I have a similar "problem" occasionally when I do a manual update. If I hang in there, however, it usually updates. If it doesn't and I try again later, it usually updates. Most of the time, my scheduled hourly updates are okay. Problems like this can happen for several different reasons: the user is behind a proxy (there is a configuration tab for that), the Clam AV mirrors are out of snych, the user needs to let ClamWin through his firewall, etc. There are many Clam AV mirror sites, and the updater goes to another one if it is unable to update. You can search for Clam AV mirrors on the web to identify them. I think there is a way to "hard code" one via configuration if you find one that works for you.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
bj w00d


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
I haven't been using it the whole time,I'm just checking in now because I need some sort of lightweight scheduled scanner. I am using Bluecoat K9 filter just like the OP,so I think it's the K9 proxy that's causing the problem. What would I need to do to get it to update through K9?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3669
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Fill out the information required in the Proxy configuration tab and see if that solves the problem. Let us know how it does.

I'm sure you realize that ClamWin is best used as a backup scanner until the developers come up with a real-time/on-access version with some heuristics and web browsing protection.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
bj w00d


Joined: 02 Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Reply with quote
Oh,I'm already using a full AV(Outpost Security Suite),it just won't do scheduled scans,so I'm hoping to have ClamWin do that. I have no idea what IP and port K9 uses,I guess I'll go to their site and try to find out...
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3669
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Maybe you have some documentation that will help.

Re scheduled scans: You may be able to schedule a Windows task/job that can activate a scan with an AV.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Web filter and database updates
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic