ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
scanning makes my desktop inaccessible!
dwk


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
atm when I do a scan, clamwin brings up a modal scan window on top of the main app window. This is bad as it means I can't minimise either window, so my desktop is inaccessible for the several hours it takes to complete the scan.

Actually, although I've had this program for a few months, I've not yet completed a full scan, since whenever I need to access something on the desktop, the only way to get the clamwin window out of the way is to cancel the scan! (the scanning engine is also a little slow, but I know that's being worked on)

A better alternative would be for the main window to be hidden during scanning, and for the scanning window to be made minimisable - 'cause otherwise it's pretty annoying Smile
View user's profileSend private message
Scanning On Top
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4335
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Yes, I have this problem also. For now, if there's something I want to work on during a manual scan, I bring up the program, minimize it, set up the ClamWin scan and maximize the program again.

I minimize long scans of the entire hard drive by scheduling separate individual scans of portions of my hard drive at a time. When the day is over, I've scanned the entire drive with minimal disruption.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
dwk


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Reply with quote
But still, considering that this is a fairly obvious UI oversight, and one which shouldn't take a developer more than a couple of minutes to address in the source code (just hide the main window when the scan window is visible, and make the scan window non-modal and minimisable -- or simply display the scanning info in the main window and do away with having two separate windows), I don't see why end users should be still having to worry about implementing these kind of workarounds. It's not a difficult problem to fix - I'd offer to fix it myself, if only I had the time! Smile
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
It is not an oversight and if it was trivial then we would have implemented it. The scan window is a wxPython modal dialog box and is not minimizable to the taskbar. Addressing it requires a partial rewrite of the UI code and is on our todo list and we don't have much time to spare neither.


Last edited by alch on Wed Dec 13, 2006 11:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
For A Free AV Program...
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4335
Location: USA
Reply with quote
For a free antivirus program that does a decent job without taking over my computer and that makes steady improvements, I will settle for a less-than-perfect user interface. I think what's "under the hood" is more important.

Have you seen the UI on some of the other AV software? Kasperskey frequently gets gigged for the one it has.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
scanning makes my desktop inaccessible!
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic