ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Now I can't update the clamwin database
Raul


Joined: 21 Jul 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Spain
Reply with quote
Hello.
Now i can't update the clamwin database ?Why?
Thanks!
View user's profileSend private message
update issue
rocky700


Joined: 30 Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I am also unable to install the update of the ClamWin database. The system is not getting supported to it and I have also tried to reinstall the update but it could not. The screen is getting blank and it is showing [url= https://errorcode0x.com/error-code-0xc0000428/] ERROR CODE 0XC0000428 [/url]on the interface.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4488
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I did a quick search (Duck Duck Go) and came up with these: url= https://errorcode0x.com/error-code-0xc0000428/] ERROR CODE and it appears that this might be due to a Microsoft problem.

Other than suggesting you try to contact Clam AV at their web site (ClamWin developers make a Windows port of the Clam AV Linux C++ source code to produce ClamWin), that's about all the help I can give unless a ClamWin developer wants to chime in (they don't check the forum very much).

BTW, since ClamWin is an on-demand AV only, for best protection you should use a real-time AV as primary and keep ClamWin as a backup scanner.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
tocnaza


Joined: 19 Feb 2019
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hello GuitarBob,

That URL that you have put does not work.

regards,
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4488
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Sorry--I didn't try it after finding--should have. Anyway, I can't provide much help--try searching on your own.

If you go to database.clamav.net you can get some information about the Clam AV update mirrors. Perhaps you can visit one of the other mirrors and get a good update.

Clam AV is currently having problems with one of the out-of-house signature updates--maybe this is affecting the mirrors.

I can sometimes cure an update problem by deleting all files in the ClamWin DB folder (save them somewhere else first in case this doesn't work) and then doing a manual update.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Clearing the database worked for me
voidxor


Joined: 01 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Lawrence, Kansas
Reply with quote
@GuitarBob: Your link didn't work because the space after the BB-code equals sign made the forum interpret the close square parenthesis as part of the URL.

GuitarBob wrote:
I can sometimes cure an update problem by deleting all files in the ClamWin DB folder (save them somewhere else first in case this doesn't work) and then doing a manual update.


I was having the same issue. Trying your trick worked for me, thanks.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4488
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I'm glad it worked for you. It seems I have to do this a couple of times per year. Just backup all the ClamWin db folder files in case it doesn't work so you can restore them.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
Now I can't update the clamwin database
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic