ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
FreshClam going CPU-bound?
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
I just updated to 88.3 (yesterday), and during last night's scheduled update, Freshclam went CPU-bound. Normally the database update takes less than a minute, but Freshclam was still hogging the CPU 3-1/2 hours later.

Was there some glitch with the server(s) last night, or is this a bug in the new version?

bp
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
I am not aware of any server glitches, can you reproduce that reliably?
View user's profileSend private message
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Don't know. When I installed 88.3, the DB update ran just fine (at the end of the installation). So, I wasn't aware of any glitch at that time.

When I got on the system this morning, things were slow as molasses; checked around and found freshclam at 90%, and showing no signs of letting up. So I shot it in the head.

I'll try running some updates and see what happens. It will also run automagically again tonight.

bp
View user's profileSend private message
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Doesn't look like I can reproduce. I ran another update and it completed in seconds without incident.

It will be interesting to see what it does on auto-pilot tonight.

bp
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 894
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
main mirror for database download is often slow, try using a different mirror
View user's profileSend private message
Happened again last night
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Freshclam going CPU-bound happened again last night on a different system than before.

My first clue was that my nightly backup, which normally takes 15-20 minutes or so was still running 5 1/2 hours later. Brought up the task manager, and found freshclam busy doing ???, and basically sucking down the CPU.

I killed freshclam, and the backup completed in a few minutes.

So, I don't know what causes freshclam to do this, but it is not very repeatable. Seems to happen on one of my systems or another every month or two.

I suspect that this will not be easy to track down.

Is _no_one_else_ seeing this at all?!?

Where do you specify which mirror to use?
View user's profileSend private message
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
Never mind... Figured it out. It was too obvious.... (duh)
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 894
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
clamav team added a fix for this in 0.88.4, new binaries should have this problem fixed
View user's profileSend private message
FreshClam going CPU-bound?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic