ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Clam Sentinel+ClamWin=offten scanning and CPU load 50%
mist


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Clam Sentinel+ClamWin=offten scanning and CPU load 50% at this time
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4360
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Neither Sentinel or ClamWin run as a Windows service. They will always use more memory than other AVs. You can reduce the number of extensions in Clam Sentinel which will help some. I use 40 extensions.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mist


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
hello! Thanks for quick reply)
i am understand, try reduce file extention list, i am report about result.

ps found some http://sourceforge.net/p/clamsentinel/discussion/976133/thread/abc8d34e/?limit=25
here i am read that Clamwin must be used with other AV software, what you can tell about that?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4360
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Yes - ClamWin only scans when you tell it to (on demand). It does not scan "on access" when files are opened or closed. It is only a "backup" scanner and should be used with another AV as primary scanner. Clam Sentinel adds a "resident" scanner that is always on that scans files as they are added, copied, or modified on your computer. This is not quite as good as "on access", so it is still okay to use another AV even with Clam Sentinel. Read the Clam Sentinel Simple Guide for operating information.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mist


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
Thanks!
Why Clamwin have no realtime protection?
What AV you advice for primary protection?
View user's profileSend private message
ROCKNROLLKID


Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 562
Location: **UNKNOWN**
Reply with quote
Avira is a good anti-virus with high detection ratios. You can also try Avast or Microsoft Security Essentials. All 3 are free, but never use them together. You can also use Malwarebytes as a back up scanner, but I wouldn't bother to pay for Malwarebytes premium. Malwarebytes is more of a cure then a vaccine.

Bob and I have some plans for combining Sentinel with ClamWin making a whole AV out of them 2, which hopefully we can do before 1.0 comes out, which I am thinking should be no problem at all.
View user's profileSend private message
mist


Joined: 09 Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Reply with quote
ok)
Avira free - have no game mode
Avast - good
MSE - slow showing icons then enter to dir with programms or shortcuts
View user's profileSend private message
Layne


Joined: 22 Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
mist wrote:
ok)
Avira free - have no game mode
Avast - good
MSE - slow showing icons then enter to dir with programms or shortcuts


Yeah, I use avast too, it's pretty good. Better than nortons.
View user's profileSend private message
Clam Sentinel+ClamWin=offten scanning and CPU load 50%
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic