ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
RAR module failure
Thomas123


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
Hello together,

I have a problem with scanning *.rar files! I get always the message "rar module failure" if I scan a folder which has rar-files included. I use this in a batch file on a w2k machine, with lasted ClamWin (0.88.3) installed!

My Command line Example:
clamscan.exe --database="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\db" ^
--recursive c:\asetocm\debug ^
--move="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\quarantine" ^
--bell ^
--unrar=%temp% ^
--max-ratio=500 ^
--log="C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\.clamwin\log\ClamScanCommand.log"

For all of my *.rar files I get the exactly message:
ERROR:
Unpacker stopped with external signal -1
C:\example\example/dde20060803171336.rar: RAR module failure

This files are normal text files packed with WinRAR 3.30..!

If I don't use the switch --max-ratio=500 I get also aditionally a message for only one rar file like "oversized. rar found" and this file was detect as virus !!??, ... but it isn't a virus (only a packed log-file)??!!


Please, can somebody help me!

Thanks
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
Quote:

--unrar=%temp%
- this setting tells clamscan to use your temp directory as unrar unpacker which is wrong.
--unrar option should specify the path to unrar.exe not where to unpack the files.
View user's profileSend private message
Thomas123


Joined: 04 Aug 2006
Posts: 5
Reply with quote
.. okay, thanks for that information!

I give clamwin the path to the winrar.exe, but nevertheless the message appear firstly.
Afterwards my additional packer winrar open the files and then clamwin say my file is okay.
If I use the option --unrar="c:\Program Files\Winrar\winrar.exe" does clamwin use first his own packer to handle the files??

Regards
Thomas
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1751
Reply with quote
you need a command line client unrar.exe, not the GUI client winrar.exe

you can find unrar 3.0 for windows here:
http://unxutils.sourceforge.net/
View user's profileSend private message
sherpya


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 898
Location: Italy
Reply with quote
rar module of stable clamav is not compatible with rar3 archives, they added a better rar module in development
version, but I dunno when they will they use it in stable version so external unpacker is the best choice for now
View user's profileSend private message
RAR module failure
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic