ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
HowTo: Submit a suspicious file/potential virus or spyware
pstojkovic


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Serbia & Montenegro, Europe
Reply with quote
Hi all.

The last night I had some nasty spyware situation, and it seems that I managed to fight it.
Unfortunately, ClamWin didn't detect anything in file that was causing all of the fuss.

I'd like to submit this suspicious file together with my experience on stopping the threat,
but I couldn't find any link in the ClamWin web site where I could do it,
and there is no direct email address to write you an email with attachment.

Please let us know how can we submit suspicious files?

Greetings,
P!

[/img]
View user's profileSend private message
HowTo: Sorry, wrong forum
pstojkovic


Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Serbia & Montenegro, Europe
Reply with quote
I'm sorry for it might seem that I posted previous message in wrong forum...
But I could not find any other forum that would be appropriate for it.

And this is a "HowTo" forum, after all Smile
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
please read this FAQ:
http://www.clamwin.com/content/view/40/27/
View user's profileSend private message
creek23


Joined: 31 Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Location: Philippines
Reply with quote
May I suggest that http://www.clamwin.com/content/view/40/27/ this link be added on http://www.clamwin.com/content/view/72/1/ How You Can Help page spefically on the that says, "Submit undetected virus and spyware samples." It would be much easier to contribute.
View user's profileSend private message
Loki000


Joined: 22 Dec 2014
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
since many years I have used Clamwin as my 2nd antivirus scanner. Now I am using Windows 7 64 Bit and whenever I start Clamwin, it gives me an error message that Clamwin cannot be started. Of course it is running with administrator rights. Does this mean Clamwin is not capable running with Windows (Vista/ 7) 64 Bit edition?


Pass your http://www.braindumps.com/1Y0-300.htm Dumps - 1Y0-300 and http://www.braindumps.com/LX0-102.htm braindumps.com LX0-102 exams in first try by using our http://www.northwestern.edu/ northwestern passguide and http://www.usna.edu/ www.usna.edu and best quality http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jacksonville_University Jacksonville University


Last edited by Loki000 on Wed Jan 07, 2015 6:10 am; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 4191
Location: USA
Reply with quote
It appears that Windows 8 has done something to "increase" its security ( and decrease user control) that can make it less trusting of ClamWin under some conditions. For a long time I was unable to use the ClamWin icon menus and the on-demand scan from Win Explorer, and I had to okay ClamWin after each bootup. Everything worked okay after a ClamWin install until the next bootup. This was all cured by a reinstall of the OS, but I still don't know why. All I can do is suggest a reinstall via the ClamWin installer and run the installer as an admin. If that doesn't work, disable UAC (universal access control) and see if that helps.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
HowTo: Submit a suspicious file/potential virus or spyware
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic