ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Can't activate Outlook 2010 Add-In
ReinaSowieso


Joined: 28 May 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Hi,

i have Server 2008 r2 and Office 2010 on a remotedesktop Server.

even locally logged in as admin i can't activate the clamwin Add-In in Outlook 2010.

it's remain always inactive.

Outlook says in the COM-Add-Ins configuration window:
Location: C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\OlAddin.exe /Automate
Not loaded. During starting a runtime error has occurred.

On the command console i can run "C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\OlAddin.exe" /Automate - nothing happens.

any help would be welcome.

best regards, Reinhard.
View user's profileSend private message
Re: Can't activate Outlook 2010 Add-In
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
ReinaSowieso wrote:
Hi,

i have Server 2008 r2 and Office 2010 on a remotedesktop Server.

even locally logged in as admin i can't activate the clamwin Add-In in Outlook 2010.

it's remain always inactive.

Outlook says in the COM-Add-Ins configuration window:
Location: C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\OlAddin.exe /Automate
Not loaded. During starting a runtime error has occurred.

On the command console i can run "C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\OlAddin.exe" /Automate - nothing happens.

any help would be welcome.

best regards, Reinhard.


There should be OlAddin.log file in C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\ folder
Also are you using 32 or 64 bit office?
View user's profileSend private message
ReinaSowieso


Joined: 28 May 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Hi Alch,

microsoft office 2010 is 32 bit (on 64 bit server)

there is no log file in the folder.

probably OlAddin.exe has never been started for safety reasons.
if i activate it and check then the setting again, it is inactive again.
View user's profileSend private message
alch
Site Admin

Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 1748
Reply with quote
Another possibility is hardware Data Execution Prevention (DEP) which sometimes stops the addin
It can be disabled in BIOS to test the assumption
View user's profileSend private message
ReinaSowieso


Joined: 28 May 2013
Posts: 3
Location: Germany
Reply with quote
Bingo! Thank you!

i changed dep setting in windows server 2008 extended system properties to "only for necessary windows programs and services".

clamwin is starting with outlook now.

best regards, Reinhard.
View user's profileSend private message
Can't activate Outlook 2010 Add-In
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic