ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
2 errors in Windows7 64bit
mlanders


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
When trying to use the right-click menu to scan a specific file I get the following error message:
Error: Unable to execute command "C:\Program Files (x86)\ClamWin\bin\ClamWin.exe" --mode=scanner --path (then the path/filename)
I can scan specific files by opening ClamWin, clicking on drive C, then digging down to where the file is located and right-clicking on it, but the integrated Explorer menu gives me the above error.
When trying to open ClamWin using the icon in the taskbar I get the following error message:
An error occured while starting ClamWin Free Antivirus scanner. [Errno 22] Invalid argument
I'm using Windows7 64-bit on an HP laptop. I've tried removing and reinstalling ClamWin; no change. Note that Windows always asks if I want to allow ClamWin to make changes on the hard drive when I start it from its usual shortcut.
Any suggestions?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3560
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I'll just throw out a couple of suggestions before we ask a developer about this. First, do you have administrative rights on the computer where ClamWin is installed? Second, where is it installed--In the Program Files X86 folder or the Regular (64-bit)Programs Files folder? It should be in the Program Files X86 folder.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mlanders


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Thanks for getting back to me about this. I have admin rights on the computer and ClamWin is in the x86 folder.
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3560
Location: USA
Reply with quote
The fact that Windows always asks if you want to allow ClamWin to make changes on the hard drive when you start it from its usual shortcut looks to me like you do not have administrative rights, but perhaps this is normal with Windows User Account Control (UAC). If you are using UAC, temporarily turn it off, and then see what happens, but turn it back on afterwards.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mlanders


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
You are correct. Windows 7 lists me as administrator but the standard UAC settings require that I grant permission every time something makes changes to the computer. As an experiment, I turned off UAC, the error messages disappeared and ClamWin acts like it did in WindowsXP. The Windows7 help recommends that I do not turn off UAC. Does this mean that I will have to give ClamWin administrator privileges for it to work correctly? Is this a security risk?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3560
Location: USA
Reply with quote
It does mean that ClamWin needs admin privliges to operate as you want it. I guess there could be a security problem if you give ClamWin admin rights and you get a file-infecting virus like Virut that can inject itself into the ClamWin process. What other security software are you running? It might be better if you were also running another AV--like Panda Free Cloud or Microsoft's free Security Essentials that is recognized by the Windows Security Center. If you do this, be sure to exclude the ClamWin program folder and data folder from the other AV's scans to prevent excess resource use.

I personally do not use UAC, but I don't advocate this as a rule for everyone. It's too bad Microsoft doesn't make it easy to make an exception to UAC.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mlanders


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
So, 2 choices. Either turn off UAC or give ClamWin admin privileges. A few questions, if I may:
If I turn off UAC will this reduce the security of my system?
If I don't, must I also give admin privileges to Clamscan and Clamtray?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3560
Location: USA
Reply with quote
Maybe not! I forgot that Windows 7 has a slider to set the degree of paranoia. Set it a notch below maximum and see what happens. It worked okay for me. Any setting below maximum will not give you 100% security, but that seems to be a reasonable level. Of course, keeping your computer turned off will give you 100%+ security!

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
mlanders


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
I am very tempted to use your suggestion for 100% security. Smile
UAC is set to one notch below maximum as default. It does not help; any changes by any program calls up UAC. On my computer, the 4 levels of UAC are:
total paranoia
total paranoia for anyone else but an admin
total paranoia for anyone else but an admin but allowing desktop function
off
Can UAC be reset or must I give admin to all Clam programs? Or any other ideas?
View user's profileSend private message
GuitarBob


Joined: 09 Jul 2006
Posts: 3560
Location: USA
Reply with quote
I don't have any more ideas. In my quick test, I just made sure that ClamWin worked without any UAC intervention at the 3/4 setting, and it did, but there was no new database to update or any other changes, so I guess that's why. There may be a way to whitelist or exclude a specific program--try some searches on the web for "UAC override" or something similar. Surely the commercial AVs have a way around it.

Regards,
View user's profileSend private message
2 errors in Windows7 64bit
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic