ClamWin Free Antivirus Forum Index
ClamWin Free Antivirus
Support and Discussion Forums
Reply to topic
Cygwin conflict: how to resolve?
GlueGuy


Joined: 03 Mar 2006
Posts: 15
Reply with quote
I have a running version of cacti installed, that is using the latest version of cygwin1.dll. When I updated clamwin, it installed an older version of cygwin1.dll. Not sure how to extract the exact version of each, but they have different EOFs:

The installed cygwin:

01/20/2006 10:28 AM 1,805,448 cygwin1.dll

The one that came with clamwin:

07/03/2005 11:30 AM 1,295,582 cygwin1.dll


The problem I have is when I leave the "old" version of cygwin1.dll in the clamwin directory, clamwin won't scan. So I copied the clamwin version of cygwin1.dll to the cygwin directory, then cacti won't run. I tried copying the "new" cygwin1.dll to the clamwin directory, but that caused a db init problem.

How do I resolve this conflict?
View user's profileSend private message
New version does not use cygwin
micklweiss


Joined: 10 Dec 2005
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Try the latest stable and your problem will be resolved.

- Mick
View user's profileSend private message
nova


Joined: 10 May 2006
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Had the same problem (version conflict of cygwin1.dll)

my configuration:

I installed some Cygwin utilities (using the cygwin setup utility, [url]http://www.cygwin.com/[/url])

Later, I installed ClamWin and (to get some degree of realtime scanning) WinPooch

Both installations were up to date

the problem:

whenever I started a program while some of Cygwins utilities were running, Winpooch barked that the program did not pass the virus scanner test (closer examination revealed the version conflict of the cygwin1.dll files - the version that was installed with the Cygwin setup utility seemed newer; result: whenever this version of cygwin1.dll was in use, the clamscan and freshclam utilities of ClamWin did not run)

the solution:

1) using the Cygwin setup utility, I installed the clamav package
2) in ClamWin's Preferences dialog / tab File Locations, I changed the locations of the ClamScan and FreshClam executables to those of CygWin's clamav package

(initially, I also identified the executables and DLLs that were both in the Cygwin and ClamWin installation directories, and moved the versions provided with ClamWin to another directory, but this proved not to be necessary)

HTH - nova

P.S.: Whenever the virus database update tells that Your version of ClamAV is outdated, don't forget to update Cygwin's clamav package!
View user's profileSend private message
budtse


Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 372
Location: Belgium
Reply with quote
Starting with version 0.88.1, clamwin does no longer use cygwin.

You should be able to install the latest version without any cygwin conflicts.
View user's profileSend private message
Cygwin conflict: how to resolve?
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic